A Spring Weekend in the Garden

Well, today and yesterday were not as eerily beautiful as some of the days we’ve had recently. They were on the chilly side and mostly overcast. However, they were good enough to get outside and spend many enjoyable hours doing spring chores. As noted in my previous post, the first thing I did on Friday afternoon (after returning from another week in Springfield) was plant my new flowering dogwood.

I was delighted to find when I returned home that my crabapple was at its peak of bloom.

My "Donald Wyman" crab at peak of bloom in my front yard.

 Also, the grape hyacinth, the scilla, and the Virginia bluebells are now in full swing.

Virginia Bluebells outside my back door. Is it wrong of me to wish they could genetically engineer them to last all year?
Grape hyacinths along the front walk to the house.

The first of the yellow celandine poppies are blooming, as are the bleeding heart, and the false forget-me-not have started blooming, but are a week or two from their peak.

I spent most of my time edging the flower beds. A few years ago I switched from using pavers length-wise for edging to shallow trenches. I prefer the trenches because they tend to make a sharper, clearer line between lawn and bed. However, the trenches tend to fill with soil, leaves, etc. over time and I have to go over them with an edger once or twice a year. I’ve been told by a guy who works at the Chicago Botanic Garden that I should fill the trenches with wood chips. I may do that this summer.

One thing I noticed while working on the edging was that some unwanted visitors had invaded a few of the flower beds. Specifically, the grass had grown into and around the crowns of some New England aster and Red Milkweed, and were expanding outward from there. I really don’t want to dig up these plants and disentangle the plant roots.

 Also, I’ve got creeping bellflower in a couple of my beds. Again, there is no way to get rid of this plant without digging up everything, and even then they’ll just grow back from the underground tubers. My inclination is to just be mellow and accept the presence of these unwanted guests but practice some containment. My concern is that I may be kidding myself, that I have to eradicate or be completely overrun. Gardening may be relaxing, but it still provides plenty of stuff to fret over for those of us who are inclined to be fretful (that would be me).

I also transplanted some carolina roses. They were planted just a couple feet from the driveway – not the greatest place for a very thorny plant. I moved them a few feet to the south side of the crabapple.

2 Comments on “A Spring Weekend in the Garden

  1. I just use a straight edge shovel and an edging tool – like a shovel but with a smaller flat blade. Thanks for stopping by, I really like seeing other people’s gardens, and I’ll definitely take a look at yours.

Leave a Reply

