Bloom Day +1

I’m never able to get this done on the 15th, but so be it. Here’s what’s blooming in my garden:

Native Perennials and Shrubs (including Cultivars)

Asclepias purpurascens, Purple Milkweed. Well behaved milkweed that grows in light shade.

Purple Milkweed

Asclepias tuberosa, Butterflyweed. Love this plant.

Butterflyweed

Ceanothus americanus, New Jersey Tea. Low growing shrub GREAT for pollinators.

New Jersey Tea

Coreopsis lanceolata and ‘Sunfire’

Cornus racemosa, Gray Dogwood

Heliopsis helianthoides, Early Sunflower

Hydrangea ‘Annabelle’

Lonicera sempervivens,Trumpet  Honeysuckle

Trumpet Honeysuckle

Penstemon digitalis ‘Husker Red’, Smooth Penstemon

Polygonatum biflorum, Solomon Seal

Rosa setigera, Illinois Rose. Dainty pink flowers on a monster plant. I may regret planting this, but I’m loving it now. Blooming for first time after three years.

Sambucus canadensis, Elderberry

Tradescantia ohioensis, Ohio Spiderwort

Non-Native Perennials and Shrubs

Achillea millefolium ‘Paprika’, Yarrow

Adenophera lilifolia, Ladybells. Aggressive plant  but flowers just as pretty as bellflowers.

Ladybells with pet concrete chicken in background.

Clematis ‘Jackmanii’. Wanted the Clematis to be blooming through the Cup Plant, but Clematis is early.

Clematis and Cup Plants.

Corydalis lutea

Digitalis ambigua, Yellow Foxglove

Geranium ‘Johnson’s Blue’, ‘Rozanne’, and ‘Biokovo’

Knautia macedonica

Lilium asiatica, various cultivars

Nepeta ‘Walkers Low’

Rosa ‘Cassie’, ‘Westerland’, ‘Darlow’s Enigma’

Salvia X nemorosa  ‘May Night’ and ‘Blue Hill’

Scabiosa ‘Butterfly Blue’, Pincushion Flower

Annuals: Cosmos, Cleome, Impatiens, Nicotania, Verbena, Zinnia, Lobelia, Lobularia, Calibrachoa, Petunia, Pelargonium, Penta, Bacopa. Various cultivars.

8 Comments on “Bloom Day +1

  1. Beautiful blooms!
    I did not know that Milkweed came in purple.
    Happy Gardening!
    Lea
    Lea’s Menagerie

    • Thanks. Purple Milkweed is a little tempermental, it doesn’t like too much sun or competition from other plants, but I think it’s beautiful. Not aggressive, but not fragrant like Common Milkweed.

  2. Wow, you really have a lot in bloom. I’m fascinated by the fact that some of your plants bloom at the same time as mine (e.g., Geranium ‘Biokovo’) and some bloom much earlier (False sunflower — mine don’t even have buds yet!). I love your red and yellow lilies (although I, too, love the Casa Blanca lilies best). I gave up growing lilies years ago; between the depredations of the red lily beetle and the deer who bit off the about-to-bloom buds and then spit them out on the ground, it was just too frustrating an exercise. Every so often, though, some long buried and forgotten lily bulb will send up a stalk and bloom; always a treat.

  3. The Heliopsis usually blooms by the end of June, so it is about two weeks early. The Biokovo is just finishing its bloom period, in a few days the last flowers will probably be gone. I would think your garden would generally be ahead of mine. We’ve had a mild winter and a mostly warm spring, so most things are early around here.I am so thankful that there are no deer in this area

  4. I see where you said purple milkweed doesn’t handle competition well, which may explain why one of mine seems to have died this summer. The other is slow growing, and like my other milkweeds, has aphids on it that I’ve been washing off every few days or so. It doesn’t have much competition, but is in pretty much full sun.

    I am looking forward to my few inches tall New Jersey tea plant growing and blooming. I am wondering if a plant I’m trying to get rid of is ladybells. I was thinking it was a campanula of some kind. It is too spready for me. It is also one that does not stay pulled, so I know I will be battling it awhile.

    • In my experience, purple milkweed actually prefers some shade. The ones I planted in sun died, the ones I planted in part shade slowly established themselves and spread a little.

      Your campanula could be creeping bellflower, which is almost impossible to get rid of. Best thing is to keep pulling stalks out, but don’t even try to dig out the roots.

Leave a Reply

