Back to School at the Chicago Botanic Garden

For the last year or so I’ve been taking classes at the Chicago Botanic Garden (CBG). I skipped the April/May classes because that is our busiest time at work. My goal is to get a Certificate in Garden Design, though I’ve got a very long way to go. 

Linnaeus statue at the CBG’s Discovery Garden.

Monday night I started on my new course. I was supposed to start the Monday before last. In fact, I had taken the day off so that nothing would interfere with getting to the first class on time.

Only thing was, I got so caught up in working on the garden that I forgot I had a gardening class that evening. How’s that for irony?

Anyhow, the class is on Modern Garden History. It’s taught by Barbara Geiger, who also teaches at the Illinois Institute of Technology. She’s a very knowlegable and entertaing lecturer (I’ve already taken the Early Garden History class with her). There are about 10 people in the class, a diverse and interesting group.

Most of the CBG classes are held here at the Regenstein Center.

I’ve got to tell you, any gardener who visits Chicago must go to the Chicago Botanic Garden. I love that place. Just take a look at the website. And for those of you who live in the area, I highly recommend the adult education programs.

3 Comments on “Back to School at the Chicago Botanic Garden

  1. I can’t believe I somehow never made it there on my few trips to Chicago (I sort of blame the fact that the first time was in January, the 2nd time with someone who threw a fit at the idea)! Next time I visit, I’m so there!

    • OK, in January it’s not quite the same experience. Regarding the second trip, what in the world were you doing with such a person?

  2. I took Modern Garden History from Barbara a few years ago and I loved it! She’s a very good teacher. If she is still requiring students to do a presentation on modern garden designers, be sure to pick out one early. We ended up having some duplicates.

Leave a Reply

