July Bloom Day

So mid-July is here, and it’s time for Garden Blogger Bloom Day. I like this custom. Anyhow, we have really entered the season of high summer. And when I say high, I mean really tall, as in really tall plants mostly with yellow flowers. At least, that’s how it is in the American Midwest. So, here’s the perennials in bloom in my garden right now.

Agastache foeniculum, Anise Hyssop. This is one of my favorites. Adaptable and almost trouble free. Good idea to cut it back around the end of May for a more compact plant.

Anise hyssop with Oriental lilly buds and daylilies.

Asclepias incarnata, Swamp Milkweed (species and ‘Ice Ballet’). Wrote a post on these earlier. These are now just past their peak.

Asclepias tuberosa, Butterflyweed

Chasmanthium latifolium, Northern Sea Oats. A great grass that grows in sun or shade. In my yard grows a little too tall and tends to get floppy.

Northern Sea Oats

Echinacea purpurea, Purple Coneflower

Eupatorium purpureum, Sweet Joe Pye Weed. When I see these with Cup Plant, I think of Godzilla versus Megalon. Some seriously tall plants. Keeping them staked is a challenge.

Godzilla and Megalon! I mean Cup Plant and Sweet Joe Pye Weed, standing tall behind Swamp Milkweed and New England Aster.
Sweet Joe Pye Weed in the sun.

 

Helianthus occidentalus, Western Sunflower

Heliopsis helianthoides ‘Prairie Sunset’, False Sunflower. This is another plant, like ironweed, that I thought had died.

Bee in flight among wild bergamot and false sunflower.

Hemerocallis ‘Eye-yi-yi’, ‘Egyptian Spice’, ‘ Chicago Star’, ‘ Chicago Apache’

Iris domestica, Blackberry Lily. The taxonomists have now decided this is an iris. Geez, you guys, give it a rest.

This Blackberry Lilly must have been planted by a bird.

Lonicera sempervivum, Trumpet Honeysuckle. This blooms heaviest in spring but reblooms in summer and fall.

Lilium auratum ‘Casa Blanca’, Oriental Lily. Another favorite. The fragrance is wonderful.

 

 

Flowers from the dainty to the mighty.

 

Lobelia cardinalis, Cardinal Flower. There isn ‘t a better hummingbird plant, and you won’t find a better red anywhere.

Cardinal Flower

Monarda fistulosa, Wild Bergamot

Monarda hybrids ‘Raspberry Wine’ and ‘Claire Grace’

Phlox paniculata ‘David’

Ratibida pinnata, Yellow Coneflower

Rosa Casey, Sally Holmes

Rudbeckia fulgida, Black Eyed Susan

Ruelia humilis, Wild Petunia

Scabiosa ‘Butterfly Blue’

Cup Plant. My, you are tall.

Silphium perfoliatum, Cup Plant

20 Comments on “July Bloom Day

  1. Lovely! I have sea oats as well – love the copper color in the fall – but they are on my black list, as they have been reseeding themselves *everywhere*.

    • Yes, that is a problem, and the seedlings aren’t easy to pull out, either. I probably won’t plant any more, but I’ve got some really big clumps and I can’t see getting rid of them. Although, now that I say it, the idea seems tempting …

  2. I was going to ask you if your sea oats stayed put, but I see Abby’s do not. You have some nice offerings for GBBD.

    • Thanks. Despite the bad behavior, it’s just hard to beat those seed heads. Wild rye is another bad one for seeding. I find bottlebrush grass and switchgrass to be pretty well behaved.

  3. Wonderful garden, Jason! I love all the natives. Northern sea oats is such a great plant, but I’ve resisted the urge to add it here because of how it seeds all over. I started switchgrass, bottlebrush grass, purple love grass, Indian grass, and prairie dropseed all from seeds a friend shared this spring. I just put them in the garden a couple of weeks ago – looking forward to having some native grasses here. I hope they don’t go crazy with self-seeding.

    • Prairie dropseed is pretty well behaved. I’ve had it three years and it just slowly forms a bigger clump. N o self-seeding at all that I’ve seen.

  4. I had no idea sea oats could self seed. My clump is pretty big this year (3rd year) but very upright – no oats yet. I’m going to divide it and watch out for babies. Thanks for the tip.

    • Thank you. The sweet joe pye weed is the tallest, and also the most adaptable. I also have the cultivar ‘Gateway’, which has a darker color, red stems, and is not quite so tall.

  5. Hi there Jason – what superb photographs – your Joe Pye Weed looks so at home and so spectacular! Your sunshine filled images are warming me up, as its cold and depressingly torrential in the rain department in Cambridge at the moment. You have a beautiful blog – happy gardening. Ursula

    • Thanks. I would happily send you some sun and warmth if you would send me some rain. Too bad it doesn’t work that way.

  6. Hi Jason, I’m glad you stopped by my GBBD post and left a comment so I could discover your blog. I love your assortment of plants, and it was fun seeing the cup plant blooming. I just got one this spring from a sale in someone’s yard. I planted it near a sidewalk to provide a limit for its spread. It sure is growing fast.

    • Planting it in a self-contained space is smart. The main thing you have to watch for, though, is the seedlings. Keep those under control and you’ll be ok. I’m guessing from the plants you’ve got that there are already goldfinches in your yard, but cup plant is a goldfinch magnet. Also, a really deep taproot means very drought resistant, though it does appreciate moisture.

      • I don’t think we have goldfinches, but there are a number of house finches and chickadees that I’ve seen on the coneflowers. We also have cardinals, robins, doves, and lots of sparrows. (I’m trying to remember if I’ve actually seen the house finches on the flowers. I know the chickadees have been.)

        If the cup plant has loads of seeds, I may take some off. I am good about pulling out seedlings of plants I don’t have room for, and am happy with the plant, as long as they stay pulled. Yesterday, when I looked at the cup plant, I saw lots of new growth coming from the base. It sure seems happy where I put it!

  7. Yes it does. Hope you enjoy it, I sure do. I think of it as the Big Bird of native perennials with its cheerful yellow flowers and massive size.

    By the way, about 12 years ago I used to travel to Lincoln, Nebraska for my job several times a year – and sometimes to other parts of the state.

  8. Your garden looks great! It does not look tired at all, even with the drought. You seem to be at a similar point in your growing season to where our garden (zone 5 also but in PA). And I had not heard yet about the blackberry lily being renamed – thanks for the info. I guess it is a good thing that most plants still have common names… since the latin ones are also becoming regionally known! There is a great irony in that I think.
    Happy July!

    • Taxonomists are some of my least favorite people. I think they keep renaming things just to mess with our minds. I’m glad you like the garden. I usually don’t water, but this year I made an exception, otherwise it probably would look tired indeed.

Leave a Reply

