Someone likes me!

Since I started writing Garden in a City back in January, I’ve found that I like garden blogging much more than I expected. Among the things I like are all the ways that this virtual community finds to express appreciation as well as increase mutual awareness. For example, I like the various collegial awards that we present to each other.

One reason I like these awards is that I’ve just been nominated for two of them (the Sunshine Award, and the Beautiful Blogger Award) by one of the bloggers I enjoy following, Garden Sunshine, an avid Canadian gardener with a young family. Now, receiving this type of award does not mean that your blog has been judged outstanding by some panel of worthies. It just means that at least one other blogger thinks you’re doing a good job.

But that’s more than good enough for me! I’ve felt for a long time that most people just don’t get enough recognition in this life, and I think this sad fact applies particularly well to myself. So thanks, Garden Sunshine!

To claim these awards, you have to do some homework, namely, write something about yourself and nominate some other blogs to receive the same awards.

So here goes. The Sunshine Award asks the following:

  • Favorite Number: Anything but one, which is the loneliest number.
  • Favorite Non-Alcoholic Drink: Fresh pomegranate juice.
  • Favorite Animal: Downy Woodpeckers. They are tough (can keep the house sparrows in line) yet comical.
  • Facebook or Twitter: A little of each, not much of either.
  • My Passion: Native wildflowers.
  • Favorite Day of the Week: Any day I can avoid going to the office.
  • Favorite Flower: Anise Hyssop. No, Swamp Milkweed. No, Butterflyweed …

Now for the Beautiful Blogger Award, which wants seven interesting facts about myself.

1. If you took all the papers piled on my desk at work and laid them end to end, they would circle the earth three times.

2. I have a private nickname for every gas station on I-55 between Chicago and Springfield, Illinois.

3. When Judy wasn’t around, I used to give the kids canned ravioli for breakfast.

4. I have an inexplicable desire to visit all the breakaway regions of the former Soviet Republics. (Nagorno-Karabak, anyone?)

5. I was once stupid enough to drive from Bismark, ND, to Pierre, SD, in January. During a snowstorm.

6. Favorite movie: Action on the North Atlantic with Humphrey Bogart.

7. Favorite novel: Shalimar the Clown by Salman Rushdie.

Now, as to my nominees.

For the Sunshine Award:

For the Beautiful Blogger Award:

I sincerely encourage you to take a look at these blogs, which feature very fine writing, outstanding photography, or both – and all reflect a deep knowledge of and an entertaining and stimulating take on gardening and related topics.

15 thoughts on “Someone likes me!

  1. Thanks for nominating me Jason! I enjoy these awards too -it’s always nice to feel appreciated! The internet world is so big that I tend to think it’s pretty swell when folks like us that share similar interests from all over the world can connect. These awards are a great way to discover new blogs.

  2. Congratulations on receiving these awards. I enjoyed hearing more about you. It’s always fun to hear some personal things about the blogger. I also appreciate you nominating me for the Sunshine award, but I am going to decline as I have already received this award previously. But don’t feel bad about serving canned ravioli as breakfast. I have been known to serve my children ice cream for breakfast! It makes for a fun day! :)

    • D’oh! Sorry, I should have checked about the Sunshine award more carefuly.

      Regarding the ravioli, it wasn’t just any canned ravioli, it was Chef Boy-Ar-Dee. Only the best! Actually my boys and I liked having it for breakfast, but we would have liked ice cream too, I just never thought of that.

Leave a Reply

