Something Different for Thanksgiving Dessert

We had a fine Thanksgiving. Both kids were home – David had taken the bus down from Minnesota. Also taking part were Judy’s brother and sister-in-law Paul and Paula; also their son Marc, his wife Cathy, and granddaughter Miranda. Miranda, not yet two, was the star of the evening.

We had many of the staples: turkey, mashed sweet potatoes, braised brussels sprouts, two kinds of cranberries. For dessert, though, Judy (with assistance from Daniel), made something a little different: galettes, which are a sort of open-faced pie. There were three kinds: cherry, mixed berry, and pear with ginger.

Freshly baked galettes: mixed berry (right), pear and ginger (center), cherry (left).

The prear galette recipe was kind of improvised, so here it is, as dictated by Judy and Daniel.

  • Cut two pears up into little pieces. Mix with the juice of one lime and a scant tablespoon of grated fresh ginger. Add sugar to taste and about a tablespoon of cornstach.
  • Roll out one pie crust. Put pear mix in the middle. Fold the pie crust edges over and crimp (see picture).
  • Brush crust with egg wash if desired for browning.
  • Bake at 400 degrees F for 35 to 40 minutes, or until browned. Allow to cool before cutting or it will be runny.

Enjoy!

Miranda, the guest of honor, with parents Marc and Cathy.

 

The other guest of honor.

25 Comments on “Something Different for Thanksgiving Dessert

  1. So glad you had a good holiday. The galette looks so pretty, and it seems easy enough for me to give it a try – maybe tonight! Yum! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Looks like you all had a wonderful time. Your galettes look delicious, must have a go myself.

  3. Sounds like you had a great feast. Those open faced pies look really good. I’d never heard about them before and now I’m going to have to do some investigating. Like Jan, I think that turkey is down right out of a Norman Rockwell painting.

  4. Hi Jason, thanks for always visiting my post and for kind comments. Every dish looks so sumptuous, i love to taste those pies!

  5. Galettes could not be easier. I use Pet-Ritz pie crusts, which just have to be unrolled and rolled out a bit bigger and thinner. Then put any kind of fruit in the middle — check a pie recipe to see how much thickener you might want to use. Crimp with a good pinch to prevent it opening unexpectedly. The hardest part is — you have to wait for it to cool before cutting or it can be very runny. I thought for the longest time that I wasn’t using enough thickener because they always ran. Yes, we were always gobbling them down hot. Which might be the best way, after all.

  6. I just love your Thanksgiving! I was lucky enough to be in Canada for Thanksgiving in 2007 and was invited to my friends house for their family meal and celebrations and it was such a memorable event. I loved it! It reminded me so much of our Christmas meals because of the Turkey and I just loved the whole family get together. The setting was wonderful too, their home is on Passage Island just off the coast from Vancouver. I should dig out some photos and post them because it really was remarkable. I wish we celebrated this over in the UK! It was my first taste of Pumpkin pie too and I fell in love with it! I did make one this time last year but my Pumpkins didn’t turn out as planned this time around! Lovely post you guys, so glad you enjoyed yourselves ๐Ÿ™‚

    • We’ve been to British Columbia and Vancouver a couple of times and really loved it. Glad you liked the post, and keep trying with the pumpkin pie, it’s worth the effort.

  7. Wow, you had quite a crowd over for your Thanksgiving. We were in the Chicago area, too, since most of my husband’s family lives there. The galettes look yummy. Are they a particular ethnic food? I love pies of all kinds! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

    • I am also a lover of pies. I prefer pie to cake for my birthdays. The galettes are just something Judy found in an article somewhere. Not sure where they come from originally. Hope you had a good holiday as well.

  8. Wow! The galettes look amazing! I will be making a copy of this one! Sounds like you had a wonderful Thanksgiving! Thank you for popping by my blog…your blog is outstanding! Adding you to my list! Nicole

  9. I’m glad you had nice Thankgiving with such big family. The pie like yours I love too. We here call it ‘open pie’ and I make the open pie with different berries, my favorite is with cottage cheese+raisin and sugar. The granddaughter is pretty!

  10. Yes, children always make the holidays fun. We just had our two grown kids over, and the two grandsons. My parents came to say hi, but had already eaten at my sister’s. They had to leave before dark because they can’t see to drive in the dark.

    I hope the time until Christmas goes by quickly, because shortly after that the days will start getting longer again, and the wait for spring will begin in earnest.

    • I agree, I’ll be looking forward to the end of December as well. We had really nice visits from our own two sons – not quite ready for grandkids, but happy to be great uncle/aunt.

  11. Wow those galettes look fabulous. We don’t celebrate Thanksgiving in Australia (not surprisingly) but I am beginning to wish we did. Looks like we are missing out on a lovely get together and quite a feast.

Leave a Reply

