Happy Holidays to Everyone

The last few years our family has started a new way of observing the holidays. We pretty much do without presents, and take a trip together instead. This year we’ve rented a cabin in South Carolina on a tidal creek, just a couple of miles from the ocean. Our two sons, both in their mid-twenties, will be with Judy and I. We intend to spend our time cooking, reading, eating, and bird watching, along with a bit of sight seeing. We’ll be back in Chicago for New Year’s Eve.

I'm hoping to see egrets while in South Carolina.
I’m hoping to see egrets while in South Carolina.

Judy and I are planning to take lots of pictures, and I expect to have fodder for several posts. There’s a chance I will write one post while we’re down there. There’s no internet access in the cabin, but there is a nearby bookstore with free wifi. I make no promises, however.

In the meantime, best wishes to all!

16 Comments on “Happy Holidays to Everyone

  1. Have a fabulous time! Best wishes to you all. I hope you get to see the egrets. I’m hoping to visit RSBB Leighton Moss bird reserve over the holidays. Looking forward to your next posts whenever they may be :) Have fun!

  2. Hope you have a lovely time with your family.
    Only in the last 15yrs or so have egrets been coming over to England from France, now they are joined by spoonbills, wonderful to catch sight of them on the coast a few miles away. Looking forward to your posts!

  3. Happy holidays to you as well. Where you spend it is not as important as who you spend it with, but the Low Country sounds like a great place, and I am sure you will see egrets.

  4. What a wonderful tradition! I hope that you and your family enjoy your time together. Sounds like a blast!!! Merry Christmas!

  5. That sounds like such a fabulous idea, I hope you have a great time!

    Happy Holidays to you and your family!

  6. I love your idea! At one point in all of our doings, Larry said we are going to be on a beach next Christmas. Later, he said he knew we couldn’t do that, but he wants things to be simpler with less mess. We’ll see what happens. I hope the weather is good for you. I’m thinking there was some bad weather north of you, at the Outer Banks in North Carolina. I was going to look at a pircam online before it got dark, but forgot to.

    Season’s Greetings! Sue

  7. That’s a wonderful idea. Merry Christmas, and hope you’re having/had a great time.

    We’ve ditched the presents mostly too, and buy just for the kids. Makes the holidays less stressful, easier on the wallet for everyone, less about rabid consumption and more about quality time, and much more environmentally-friendly. I suggested this last year and am amazed how quickly everyone agreed and jumped on the idea, including my sister who’s been the biggest opposition to it in the past. Even she finally tired of all the shopping, stress, and financial drain. I would have done it anyway this year, but I’m glad everyone got on board. We had a great time and everyone was a lot more relaxed.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,837 other followers

