Tomato and Goat Cheese Galette

The other night Judy made this tomato and goat cheese galette for dinner, and it was delicious. It would be even more delicious with home-grown or farmer’s market tomatoes instead of supermarket tomatoes, but it’s February, so there you are. She got the recipe here. The recipe called for thyme and she didn’t have any, so she used zaatar (a spice mix that includes thyme), then threw in some sumac powder for good measure.

Tomato and Goat Cheese Galette
Tomato and Goat Cheese Galette. Looks good, doesn’t it?

Judy says the key to making this successfully is slicing the tomatoes thinly, otherwise they will stay too juicy.

A quick postscript. Am I the only person who feels an urge to snicker when hearing the words “goat cheese”? I mean, goat cheese is delicious, but if someone had mentioned it to me when I was 15 (I was born in 1958), I would have snickered. And even today, it just sounds weird to my unsophisticated inner self. Of course, I also think boiled tongue and creamed herring are perfectly normal, so what do I know? But what about you, are there foods you enjoy today that you would have laughed at while growing up?

35 Comments on “Tomato and Goat Cheese Galette

  1. I want to try this one! I so love the combination of tomatoes and goat cheese! I make a goat cheese and tomato pasta that is one of my favorites! And yes it sounds funny now that you mention it!!! Thank you to you and Judy for sharing this one! I will remember to thinly slice the tomatoes!

  2. That looks delicious! Goat cheese always reminds me of Chief Cochise for some reason and I giggle thinking of cheese in traditional Native American garb.

    • Interesting. Maybe they could start a Chief Cochise brand of goat cheese, and they would wrap the little plastic tubes in fake buffalo robes.

  3. Can’t say I’ve ever heard of galette before but this looks delicious. Creamed herring might take some convincing to consider eating it. I think as a kid I was actually more adventurous with food. I used to eat rollmops and loved them (pickled herring wrapped around a dill pickle). My parents made us eat all sorts of oddities – liver, moose, deer, rabbit, frog legs. It seems I had my fill though, now I stick to just plain old chicken 🙂

    • Rollmops sound delicious. Sounds like you ate a lot of game, not an option in my wilderness-phobic family. Although we had plenty of chicken livers fried with onions. And there are plenty of ways to make plain old chicken delicious.

  4. You would not have wanted to eat at my house when you were 15 then 🙂 My kids love Zaatar. It reportedly makes kids smarter so I give it to them all the time. We also love to put lots of Sumac and butter on Basmati rice. It makes more delicious. The dish Judy made looks delicious to me. Just the kind of thing I would love. I was raised eating traditional Middle Eastern food so tongue, brain, fish with head and tail are all pretty ‘normal’ to me 🙂 Even now, although I cook more California Cuisine-ish.. my husband cooks really traditional stuff. My kids used to eat his cooking before they knew what they were eating… now they have just become to cool for our kitchen menu. I know they still have the taste for it though. Okay.. now I’m hungry!!

    • I didn’t know that zaatar makes you smarter. There are a lot of middle eastern bakeries, groceries, and restaurants around here. Our favorite is an Assyrian bakery called Taza’s. That’s where we learned about zaatar, because Taza’s cooks a kind of pizza with a topping of zaatar and olive oil. Tongue and liver are no problem for me, but I’ve never gotten used to brains. The rice with sumac and butter sounds excellent.

      • Well then no wonder you knew about the fresh dates! The fresh dates are soooo regional… only certain parts of the region eat them. The pizza is called Mana’eesh.. its easy to make I’m sure if you looked up a recipe you could totally make it. I have to post my fava bean recipe one day. Its really tasty and its a hit with my vegan friends. There is a bit of a ritual that goes into making it but I think its worth making if you are interested in vegan cooking that is healthy and filling.

    • As you can see, it is a sort of open faced pie. You can actually make them with a single frozen pie crust from the supermarket. Can be made with fillings sweet or savory.

  5. It does look delish…I’ve made various fruit galette’s but not a goat cheese and tomato…must try it.

    We can’t mention goats around here, my Sister goes on a RANT….she’s thinking they are not her favorite dairy animal….lol.

    Jen

  6. Yes, vegetables. I still remember everyday – parents, people around me — trying to coax me in a restaurant to eat my vegetables. Still few years back, I could not eat raw vegetables like carrot, beet, green-salad, cabbage, etc; Now, I can’t live without them!!

  7. It looks delicious.It may sound funny, but I never tasted pasta as a child, and the first time i had it I didnt like it. Now i just love it.
    I don´t know if you read my answer to your question about the yellow flower. It is an eranthis, a very early springflower.

    • Hard to imagine not eating pasta as a child, our children would have eaten nothing but if we had allowed it. Thanks for the ID on the flower.

  8. Haha! Yes, I know what you mean. When I was younger I would have whinced at the sound of cheese from a goat! I first had it in France where it is called Chevre and usually baked on hot toast, so I didn’t associate it with a goat at first and when I returned home, because I loved it so much I turned all odd thoughts about goat cheese out of my head as the taste is just wonderful! I would really enjoy this galette too 🙂 Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  9. It looks delicious! I think my 15 year old son would, at the very least, try it, but I’m quite sure 12 year old girl would taste it only under extreme duress! Might be the sort of thing to make for my husband and myself for brunch someday while the kids are busy with other activities!

  10. Hi Jason,
    I have to admit that when I first saw the photo, I thought I was looking at meal worms, until I read what you said it was, and saw the tomato circles, and not just the edges that looked like the meal worms to me. Oh, my! Yes, that does look yummy! I don’t think I had heard of goat cheese until I was a grown up. It is something that grew on me, and now I love it. In fact, I threw some feta crumbles on top of my bowl of vegetable soup for supper this evening.

    There are other foods that I didn’t like as a girl that I do like now, like winter squash and beets. Now that I think of it, we didn’t eat many fresh vegetables when I was a girl.

  11. I started to add this, but accidentally hit the publish button, I guess. I wanted to say thanks for your encouraging comment on my blog. Larry thought I was goofy to put the photo of my ankle, but it seems to be on my mind a lot. I don’t remember if you said how long yours hurt after you had the growths removed. I think mine was big enough of a growth, that the resulting hole will take awhile to heal.

    • It didn’t hurt for very long, but I needed stitches and it definitely took a while to heal, especially where they removed skin on my ankle.

Leave a Reply

