End of Month View: May 2013

It’s been a very long day so I am just going to post some photos of various parts of the garden at the end of May. These pictures were actually taken on Sunday, but close enough. First, the driveway raised bed.

Nepeta
Tulips and Celandine Poppies are done. Nepeta and random pansies and johnny jump ups are blooming, other plants are preparing for their moment in the spotlight.

The foundation bed at the front of the house.

Ostrich Ferns
Bleeding Hearts are done flowering, but the foliage is still nice. Columbine and Golden Alexander bloom, and Ostrich Ferns stretch to reach their full height

View from behind the sidewalk bed.

Golden Alexander
Standing behind the sidewalk bed. There is a drift of Golden Alexander, with Allium on the other side of the sidewalk. White Wild Geranium are also blooming. Wild Bergamot and Bee Balm are getting ready to assert themselves.

View from the street.

Golden Alexander
More Golden Alexander blooming along the street in the parkway bed.

The east side bed.

Red Elderberry.
Columbine, Wild Geranium, and Woodland Phlox are in bloom. The Red Elderberry are full of unripe green berries. A young lilac at the far end is also blooming.

The spicebush bed and steps to the back porch.

Spicebush
The Spicebush are underplanted with Wild Geranium and Celandine Poppy. Nepeta ‘Kitkat’ blooms along the edge of the bed. Containers are filled with pansies.

Looking back toward the thicket corner.

Amsonia
Amsonia blooms in the back raised bed, and the Wild Currant are full of dangling chartreuse flowers.

This isn’t everything, but it includes most of the beds. Thanks to Helen at the Patient Gardener’s Weblog for hosting this meme.

36 Comments on “End of Month View: May 2013

  1. Your garden looks so lush and green, and you don´t have any odd places with bare ground. I like the way everything is filled with plants. You have a very nice garden.

  2. Hi Jason, I love that Golden Alexander ‘clumps’ you have here and there and the part I like best is the spicebush bed: I love the porch (it is something we don’t build here in Italy and I love it), the steps with pots and that corner is just very elegant.

    • Thanks. Golden Alexander is understated but very nice. I like porches also, they are one of the good things about American houses.

  3. What a transformation!!! I clearly remember the brown-earth bed that you showed here one or two months ago. Everything looking beautiful.

  4. It’s all filling in so beautifully. I see that you have a lot of plants that seem to take care of themselves (to the extent that any plant does), which is smart considering you have to travel so much. But isn’t it hard leaving the garden for days at a time?

    • Yes, it really is. May is the worst month for that, both because I feel I am missing so much and because I get nervous about falling behind.

  5. Gosh that has filled out a lot and it looks fabulous.
    Thanks for joining in this month again

    • You’re welcome. I like this meme, it is one of the few that encourages looking at the “big picture” of the garden.

    • Yes, the rain is helping. Ever since I spent a bunch of money on new soaker hoses it has been raining almost not stop, or it feels that way.

  6. What glorious madness, Jason. I’m so glad you’ve given over to it. Feeding your own soul and sharing this abundance with all who pass by both your garden and your garden blog.

    • Glad you think it is glorious. I suppose anything obsessive is madness, but a good kind. It’s something I do because I feel driven to do it. As you say, it does feed the soul.

  7. Lovely, lovely gardens, Jason. You should be proud that you have created such a pleasant haven for humans and wildlife in an urban setting. Hope you have time to sit, relax, and enjoy it a bit.

  8. Jason what a delight to see your garden looking so good. Your front driveway/entrance is beautiful. I like how you have a row of Nepeta. I’m not a fan of lavender but do like the effect. This could be something I’d consider doing in my own front garden. Thank you for the inspiration! I’m sure when I get round to it, my cats will thank you too 😉

    • I find the Nepeta is a good edge plant for a west-facing sunny border. I like the color and texture, and haven’t had too much trouble with cats.

  9. HI Jason – it’s all looking wonderfully healthy and lush – I love all your names for plants unfamiliar to us limies, they sound so exotic! It’s all looking super, happy gardening, Ursula

    • Thanks, Ursula. One of the things I like about blogging is seeing what is similar and different about the plants that are grown in different countries.

Leave a Reply

