Foliage Follow-Up

This has been a good year for ferns and other foliage plants, cool with lots of moisture. Along the shady west side of the house, Lady Ferns (Athyrium felix-femina) and Wild Ginger (Asarum canadensis) are looking happy.

Lady Ferns with Wild Ginger.
Lady Ferns with Wild Ginger.

Here’s some more Wild Ginger with an unknown fern.

wild ginger foliage

Merrybells (Uvularia grandiflora) makes a nice groundcover after blooming if it is in a moist, shady spot.

Great Merrybells

And Wild Geranium (Geranium maculatum) is the first of the Geraniums to stop blooming, but I like the foliage.

Wild Geranium

Palm Sedge (Carex muskingumensis) grows quite vigorously in my garden. I like the texture. The seed heads are not yet ripe here.

Palm Sedge

And the Ostrich Ferns (Matteuccia struthiopteris), of course, in the front foundation planting. The foliage of the Bleeding Heart is still looking nice, and still displays a flower here and there.

Ostrich Ferns

The Roof Iris (Iris tectorum) are done blooming, but the sword-like foliage is nice, and I think will be nicer as it fills in.

Roof Iris

Oh, I should say that these are all pictures taken with my cell phone. Foliage Follow-Up is hosted by Pam at Digging. Thanks Pam!

 

36 Comments on “Foliage Follow-Up

    • It is a great combo, isn’t it. The ginger is substantial while the ferns are so … ferny (I do have a way with words).

  1. Nice photos for the cell phone. Bleeding Heart here is long gone, surprised to see it in your garden blooming. Looking forward to meeting you and Judy in San Fran.

    • Yes, I’m looking forward to that as well. Those bleeding heart flowers are just a product of the mild weather we’ve had.

  2. That foliage is looking mighty good. Most of my foliage is except for the poor roses. They are plagued with blackspot due to our unusually wet spring. Happy Foliage Day!

  3. Ah, I’m jealous! Such luxurious ferns and wild ginger! I’ve tried, without success, to get both established in my garden, but it’s still too new I think. Not to mention that prairie wind and drought thing. I also love the texture of the roof iris foliage against the mix of smaller leaved plants.

  4. Love the Wild Ginger! And the Merrybells–I’ll have to think about them for one section of my garden. They form an interesting pattern draping over your pavers. Great foliage combinations!

  5. Some wonderful lush green foliage there. I rather like a green garden. Merrybells….what a wonderful cheering name.xxxx

  6. Jason. interesting foliage! Especially Roof Iris, its leaves are high and ‘sharp’ :))
    Have a nice week!

  7. Now you have a lot of greens, and we are starting to have lots of them too now that our rainy season is here. But the only thing we have in common is that fern. It has a wide range of tolerance.

  8. I have a total ‘thing’ for shady gardens and have happily been developing one in my front garden for the past couple of years. Your photos are gorgeous and truly inspiring. Thanks for sharing! Gina

Leave a Reply

