The Front Garden In The Thursday Morning Sun

The light was so perfect Thursday morning that Judy was inspired to grab her camera on her way out the door and take a few pictures. I know I just did a post on Yellow Coneflower (Ratibida pinnata), but look how the yellow flowers are luminous in the sun.

Yellow Coneflower, Joe Pye Weed
Yellow Coneflower in the sunlight with Joe Pye Weed in the background.

Yellow Coneflower

Here’s the grassy path that separates the driveway border from the island bed in the front yard.

Anise Hyssop, Swamp Milkweed, Cup Plant
Anise Hyssop and Swamp Milkweed on either side of a grassy path.

Viewing the front island bed from the sidewalk, over the heads of the Bee Balm (Monarda didyma) and Wild Bergamot (M. fistulosa). The Swamp Milkweed (Asclepias incarnata) grew really tall this year, next year I should remember to cut it back.

Swamp Milkweed, Bee Balm, Wild Bergamot
Swamp Milkweed in the back, Bee Balm and Wild Bergamot in the foreground.

Wild Bergamot is so often unfairly ignored in favor of its flashier cousin, Bee Balm.

Wild Bergamot
Wild Bergamot

The first Orange Coneflowers (Rudbeckia fulgida) to bloom are by the driveway. That’s Cigar Flower (Cuphea ignea) behind the Rudbeckia. It’s hard to tell that the Cigar Flower is in a container.

Orange Coneflower, Cigar Flower
Orange Coneflower with Cigar Flower to the rear.

I like the combination of Wild Bergamot and Early Sunflower ‘Prairie Sunset (Heliopsis helianthoides).  This picture also shows how nicely the foliage has returned on the Blue False Indigo (Baptisia australis) after I cut it back.

Wild Bergamot, Early Sunflower 'Prairie Sunset', Wild Bergamot, Cup Plant, Sweet Joe Pye Weed
Wild Bergamot with Heliopsis ‘Prairie Sunset’

Oh and by the way, the Morning Glories (Ipomoea tricolor)  have FINALLY taken and are climbing up the tutuer. I suppose we should get actual flowers in August. Better late than never.

Morning Glory Vine
Morning Glory Vine climbing tutuer.

Have you been challenged by the harsh summer light in your garden?

58 Comments on “The Front Garden In The Thursday Morning Sun

  1. Morning glories are one of those annuals you only have to plant once :).

    I find harsh summer light a challenge most when I visit other gardens. In my own I can choose to take photos in the early morning or evening although it seems like I can never capture illumination as well as Judy did in this series. Nice!

    • We’re very lucky with the weather. It’s turned nice and cool over the last week and that has helped keep the flowers looking good.

  2. How lovely and fresh everything looks. I’m forever watering in this weather and still everything looks wilted!xxxx

    • Hey, I just saw the pictures from Alaska. You have no business being jealous! Anyhow, your summer is much further along than ours.

  3. Love the lush plantings. The photo with the “Swamp Milkweed in the back, Bee Balm and Wild Bergamot in the foreground” is sumptuous.

  4. Your garden and planting is really beautiful, its a real pleasure to read your post too. Thank you. 🙂

  5. Oh, I agree about the Wild Bergamot! It looks fantastic in your garden! We went hiking at Devil’s Lake State Park to day, and it was growing like crazy–the scent was almost overpowering. The Bergamot, mixed with Rudbeckias, Sunflowers, and Cup Plant Blooms was so pretty. Beautiful photos, Judy!

    • I remember Devils Lake from the days we lived in Madison. This must have been a great day for a hike – not too hot, not raining!

  6. The picture of yellow coneflower is magnificent. You plant selection is an inspiration as my garden has too many early summer plants. I have to extend the season and will take a page from your book!

  7. Your garden is spectacular. I have the hardest time growing swamp milkweed. It seems to want more moisture than I can ever give it. What’s your secret? Meanwhile, the orange milkweed reseeds with abandon across my gardens, which I don’t really mind. I agree with you about the chipmunks. By next year they’ll probably be in cahoots with the bunnies and I’ll be on the verge of insanity.

    • I have the opposite situation. Swamp milkweed grows like a weed here, while the butterflyweed will grow, but must be coaxed along patiently. By the way, one of the nurseries here was carrying a bunch of Indian Pink late in the season and, thinking of your garden, I bought a whole bunch. They seem to be settling in fine despite being planted in July.

  8. Hi Jason, I love the shot of the borders through the grassy path, it looks so lush and the pools of sunlight on the plants is really beautiful.

  9. The first two-shots, what a beautiful lighting effect. Your garden looks great–July hasn’t bothered it one bit.

    Here it’s not the light that bothers me, it’s the heat.

  10. Great photos! I especially love the combo of the two monardas. Do you find that Wild Bergamot has the same issues with powdery mildew as bee balm seems to have?

    • I like this combination also. Yes, Wild Bergamot does tend to get powdery mildew. Actually the Bee Balm ‘Raspberry Wine’ is bred for resistance to mildew and its leaves have been very clean this year.

  11. This is what a flower garden should look like! Everything looks like it belongs, full and luscious, not too contrived. I love the combination of the orange Coneflower with Cigar Flower.

    • Me too. That was not planned, though. The weather has been really kind to the gardens around here the last couple of weeks.

  12. Pretty light in your shots, Judy. The gardens look great and hope you had many garden visitors this weekend.

    • Turnout was rather modest, but we still had fun and got to talk to some neighbors I haven’t seen in a while and someone I met through our blogs.

  13. Morning is a great time to get some photos. I like anything tall and am interested in your Yellow Coneflower (Ratibida pinnata). How tall does it get? I would also like to add some Wild Bergamot. I think the purple color would look so much better than the fire engine red variety alone side my phlox and would a better companion to the ‘Raspberry Wine’ Bee Balm.

    • It grows up to 5′ in my garden and does need staking. In leaner soil it’s supposed to grow as short as 2′. The Bergamot does go really well with the ‘Raspberry Wine’.

  14. Looking good! Yes the strong sunshine has caused a few problems in my front garden while we were away. Should have asked a neighbour to water.

    • I’m sure things will recover. Asking the neighbors doesn’t always work either, unless you’ve got really reliable neighbors.

  15. I love your yard! How long have you had the cup plant? Mine is on its second season, and quite large. I don’t have room for it to get much larger. I’ll have to give divisions away in the spring. I got mine from a plant sale a friend had.

    • I think mine is on its third year in the current location. Probably in a year or two I’ll have to start slicing off chunks from the clump.

Leave a Reply

