Holiday Nostalgia

I was feeling nostalgic the other day and started looking through old photo (pre-digital) albums.

img006

These photos, which are around 20 years old, remind me of how holidays are best with small children.

A small snowman can still be a good snowman.
A small snowman can still be a good snowman.

Not that we don’t greatly enjoy the company of our grown up kids, now 26 and 23 (and 6’1″ and 6’3″, respectively).

img005

Speaking of which, the four of us arrived in Austin last night. Expect future posts on that trip.

We don't have much in the way of hills in our part of the country, so we have to make do.
We don’t have much in the way of hills in our part of the country, so we have to make do.

In the meantime, happy holidays!

23 Comments on “Holiday Nostalgia

  1. Is that really you in that second picture :-)? Merry Christmas and have a Wonderful New Year

  2. Hope you all have fun in Austin. I agree that the holidays are so much better when there are little kids to enjoy it.

  3. Awwwww…..you have me feeling nostalgic too. All the very best to you and yours Jason, I hope you are having a fantastic trip.xxx

  4. Ahhh…I always think part of the magic of Christmas is that for just a moment or two I get transported to my childhood again. A smell, a hint of a song and it’s like I’m 7 years old again, laying on the floor and gazing wistfully up at our Christmas tree in my footie pajamas 🙂 Merry Christmas, to you and your family, Jason!

  5. A “balmy” 44 degrees in Austin; hope your enjoying the warm weather since it’s 19 degrees both in Austin Minnesota and back home in Chicago. Here in Puget Sound the birds were dining on the few remaining berries on my Cotoneaster lacteus. I was planning a Berry Christmas post, but never got around to it.

  6. Our kids are somewhere in the middle (11 and 14) and somehow I think it gets better every year. The cute little kiddie-stuff is gradually changing into some really awesome young people-stuff, and I confess to really enjoying that. Have a great trip to Austin, and a happy belated Christmas to you and yours. Safe travels!

  7. This is such a sweet post Jason….It brought tears to my eyes as I think of how fast these days with my beans are going to fly by! I just love that photo of you with your little guy and that snowman!!!! Such beauty in this post friend! Wishing you all the best on your trip with your family!

Leave a Reply

