RHS Wisley, Part 2

Here are some more pictures from RHS Wisley. I have to confess I had trouble remembering which pictures were from which part of the garden. I even printed out a map and tried to trace our route, but still ended up a little confused.

RHS Wisley
Hydrangeas and mega Gunnera on Battleston Hill.

I do remember that this is from Battleston Hill. At the time we were there, in September, there were many blooming Hydrangeas. There are also some really massive Gunneras. In spring there is supposed to be an awesome display of Rhododendron and Azalea.

RHS Wisley

Can’t really remember which building this is, sorry. It had a wonderful mass of Agapanthus, though. Makes me wish that I could grow Agapanthus, but it isn’t hardy in Chicago.

RHS Wisley

Here’s a bed near the entrance, tiny by Wisley standards, but a really nice combination of a grass that looks like Ornamental Millet and – I don’t know what. Amaranthus? Not plants I grow at home.

RHS Wisley

I think this is from the Herb Garden.

RHS Wisley fruit garden

People do the most amazing things with apple trees. At Giverny they are trained to make living fences. Here they are trained up arbors, which I like even better. This is from the Fruit Demonstration Garden.

RHS Wisley

 

2013-09-13 08.35.45 RHS Wisley

Can’t remember for the life of me which part of Wisley these are from. Nice shrub willows, though, and I love all the red, yellow, and orange in the second picture – with an added splash of blue.

RHS Wisley rock garden

 

RHS Wisley Rock Garden

 

2013-09-13 08.46.36 RHS Wisley rock garden

Some of you asked about the Rock Garden. Well, here you are.

RHS Wisley

This is over near the glasshouse. Loved all the Sedum and grasses here.

RHS Wisley laboratory

This building is the plant laboratory, I believe.

Judy took about 250 pictures here, so I’m leaving a great deal out. What’s more, we never even got to see most of RHS Wisley. Guess we’ll just have to plan another trip to the UK.

27 Comments on “RHS Wisley, Part 2

  1. WOW! Where do I start!?!?! The way they grow those apples is just fantastic…and to think I was nervous about growing an apple tree in a pot! And the beds in those shots…bold and strong in every one of your shots! I like how they used large plants in the foreground of some of their borders…it is a no nonsense look that is very pretty!

  2. I’m really enjoying seeing your travel photos. What a treat to see RHS Wisley, I would have loved it. The plant you are wondering about, I’m pretty sure it’s castor bean, an annual, Latin name Ricinus communis. It’s the plant that produces the poison ricin. But it makes a great ornamental plant.

  3. …and you haven’t even shown my favourite parts of the garden or the new planting around the new glass house. The vegetable and fruit gardens are an inspiration.

  4. It must be enormous! I loved it all and will definitely have to go there one day – very inspiring… and humbling! Thanks for sharing!

  5. Wisley is a wonderful garden. I love the alpine house there. Alison is right that plant is Ricinus communist ‘Carmencita’ it is deadly poisonous but so good for late summer. Your lovely shots of Sisley remind me I haven’t been for a while. It is the sort of garden you want to visit several times a year, there is always so much to see.

  6. They are masters at planning gardens I think. Wonderful picture with the houses behind the garden with their red roofs. Next visit could be in May maybe? The garden changes all the time. Nice with the apple trees.

  7. Wisley is a fascinating place, and luckily for me not too far from here, so I’m pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves. I think with large gardens, like large museums or art collections I get to a point where I can’t take any more in – my head doesn’t seem to absorb any more info, though the camera still clicks away 🙂 Did you get to Great Dixter on your travels – that really is just up the road from me ?!

  8. With as many beautiful gardens as you have seen and reported on this year, you’re forgiven if you can’t remember every single detail. 🙂 And, another trip to the UK sounds like a perfect solution because I’d like to do that myself.

  9. I really enjoyed those apple trees trained up the arbors and the water features in the rock garden are lovely. I do like to see water in a garden. xxx

  10. What a nice idea to grow apple trees on arbors! I would like to try growing my small apple tree. I love rock garden and this fast creek. Thank you for sharing, Jason!

  11. What a beautiful place! You must have felt like you were on sensory overload while touring this garden, Jason. I especially liked the mixed borders in your last post; so many ideas for inspiration!

  12. I’m really liking those blue-gray willows…very lovely…but, of course, it’s the Sedums and Grasses that I like the most 🙂

  13. How I’d like to have such an apple archway! Make sure you visit the alpine house next time, Jason. I’m not one for alpines usually but it was just fantastic. Reason to go back 😉

  14. The scale of the gardens is something I just wouldn’t have expected, I always think of England as having a space shortage with things crammed in. Another great tour, but I’m still a little lukewarm towards the idea of black pudding.

  15. Beautiful Jason. I also particularly like the apple arbor. As for Agapanthus, I think they vary a lot in hardiness. You might be able to find some that would survive in Chicago.

  16. Yes, come and visit again, there are so many great gardens here. Really enjoying all of your posts.

  17. Wow that Gunnera is amazing. I really admire agapanthus but don’t think it does that well here (maybe the humidity?) and the deer like it. You must have really enjoyed this trip and you have a built-in excuse to hurry back since you didn’t get around the entire garden.

    • Alain indicated that there are varieties of Agapanthus that would be hardy here, although our summers also can be very humid. Fortunately we do not have deer.

  18. Awesome photos. Wow, what a place. No wonder you were overwhelmed if that’s just a fraction of the garden. The gunnera are gorgeous, wish we could grow those. The only hard part of seeing a garden in another part of the world – fascinating to see new plants but frustrating as you can’t grow any of them! I concur with others, that’s a Caster Bean plant in the third photo. People grow them as annuals here.

  19. I have been to Wisley and the border you showed in the previous post still sticks in my head, as does the rock garden, the trough gardens, a bed of succulents laid out like a Persian carpet, and that incredible bookstore.

  20. I think we didn’t get to the trough gardens and wasn’t allowed to spend much time in the bookstore. But perhaps I’ll go back some day.

Leave a Reply

