Sissinghurst in September, Part 2

After enjoying Sissinghurst’s Cottage Garden, we strolled on to the Nuttery. This is a word I was unfamiliar with, but it means a place where you grow nuts. A comical-sounding word, suggesting all sorts of bad puns.

Sissinghurst Nuttery

Sissinghurst Nuttery

The Nuttery has a shady woodland feel, with its Ostrich Ferns (Matteucia strutheopteris) and rows of tall hazels (Corylus).

Sissinghurst Lime Walk

Near the Nuttery is the Lime Walk, which is supposed to be glorious with flowering bulbs in spring. In September it was OK, but not all that exciting.

sissinghurst herb garden

The Nuttery leads to the Herb Garden. I really liked this planter, and the way they created a surface with slivers of brick. UPDATE: Marian St. Clair of Hortitopia informs me that they are actually terra cotta tiles turned sideways. Clever!

2013-09-12 10.26.09

From the Herb Garden to the Moat Walk, where we found Aster frikatrii blooming their little hearts out.

2013-09-12 10.37.25

There is an orchard of widely spaced fruit trees, under the gaze of a 16th Century tower.

sissinghurst white garden

We spent some time in the White Garden, the most famous of Sissinghurst’s garden rooms.

sissinghurst white garden

I can’t say I appreciated the White Garden as much as some others have. It’s a little too understated for me. Also I have never been crazy about fussy little boxwood hedges.

2013-09-12 10.44.31

A garden of all or mostly white flowers needs a shady spot, in my opinion. In sunny areas white flowers look best mixed in with other colors.

2013-09-12 10.46.45

This is a really nice planter, though.

2013-09-12 11.07.18

Sissinghurst is in a gorgeous rural area, by the way.

One last English garden coming up: Great Dixter.

44 Comments on “Sissinghurst in September, Part 2

  1. The planter you like in the herb garden is very famous and very old. If I remember well, they bought in the Middle East and carried it all the way back home.

  2. I would so love to have pleached limes but my garden is too small sadly although looking at your photograph I could almost make myself believe that it would be possible! I love the long view, Sissinghurst is all about the use of space, proportion and perception, I know of nowhere that it is done better.

    • That reminds me, why on earth do they call them lime trees in Europe? They are lindens, or if you prefer, basswoods. They have no limes or lemons either.

  3. The setting with the old buildings and surrounding countryside attracts me most. I love stone walls in gardens and long stretches of green too. Very nice!

  4. I agree with all of the above comments…..and to know the history of a place/garden you begin to understand the reasons and the love that inspired this beautiful garden.

  5. I love Sissinghurst and would never pass up a day in this garden, though I have to say I believe it is better in spring and summer. I was there in September too, and in terms of autumn plants, I was disappointed. By the way, I belive the hardscape material under the planter is terricotta tiles turned on their sides. Wish we could find some here! Arts & Crafts style…very popular in early 20th century gardens.

  6. A Nuttery? Wow….I love that! Now if only my new Hazel hedge eventually manages to produce nuts!
    I loved the square with the slithers of bricks, gorgeous that. A wonderfully inspiring post.xxx

    • I don’t have any Hazels, it’s on a long list of plants I want but don’t have room for. Of course, the squirrels would eat any nuts that would be produced if I had any.

  7. Lovely photos of the old place – haven’t been there for about 15 years myself, but you’ve captured it beautifully Jason – nice to know you are in England having a lovely gardening tour! Best regards Ursula

  8. Sissinghurst is lovely all year round but it is at its best in spring and again in June when the roses are in bloom. Lovely photos Jason.

  9. The picture you labeled 10-26-091.jpg is absolutely GORGEOUS!

    I agree with you re: the tight little boxwoods. I’ve never been a fan of white flowers (boring imo) but I can see why others might find this highly defined garden room quite attractive.

  10. Jason. I sensed you felt very at home I’m the nuttery…sorry couldn’t resist an attempt at some English wit, Don’t think you can make pronouncements about white gardens in the fall. Love them and part of their cache (snob appeal) is the challenge of growing generally the most challenging color of any perennial. But never seen one or tried to grow one, just seen romanced in English books. But have had some limited success with box. We had a set of six actual boxed-shaped box that now just got torn out last week here at Trinity after major drain has been removed. Since I’m still bed-bound, haven’t had the courage to ask to get a picture for fear of what I’ll see. Know what I mean? Don’t believe ever captured on my blog because was always a work in process. Regretting so now, but will go through the archives now.

    • Couldn’t restrain yourself, huh? I was sorely tempted to use the title, “Get thee to a Nuttery!” Sorry about your hedge, hope you feel better, Patrick.

      • Should have gone with Get Thee to the Nuttery — very witty I do believe and my Australian roots give me more of a sense of what constitutes English wit, I do believe. But the English would snob at my convict roots, I fear.

  11. Such a pretty garden Jason! And yes that tile work is very clever! Love that! And that container has given me some ideas…I like the look of shallow containers with low growing plants…very stunning! Thanks for sharing!! Nicole

  12. I really enjoyed your views of Sissinghurst, both this post and the previous. I also like the tile work involving clay tiles turned on their sides. Great effect! I was thinking your exact thoughts about the White Garden, before I read your comments! That garden could use a punch of red somewhere!

  13. Jason, this is a refreshing review and I admire you honesty, its made for a great discussion. Looking forward to your thoughts on Great Dixter.

  14. Lovely White garden, Jason. I’d love to visit it as well. Also it’s interesting a patio in Herb Garden, well made planter!

  15. This is definitely a beautiful garden but I’m not a fan of boxwood hedges and I agree with you about the white flowers. White in the sun with no color around it is just blah. I also wonder why they butchered the lime trees. If they didn’t fit the space, they should have used a different tree. The nuttery is my favorite. Plus, I love the name.

Leave a Reply

