Why do we Garden?

Hey, guess what? I got an old post (from June, 2012) published by the website of the Guardian newspaper. Here it is. Or, if you prefer to read it over at the Guardian, here is the link: http://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2014/mar/21/garden-city-why

gardeninacity

Returning from another work trip on late Friday afternoon, the first thing I did was to inspect the garden. Then I spent a couple of hours staking, clipping, weeding and generally puttering around. At one point, I asked myself: why am I doing this after being absent from home all week? More generally, why do I spend so much time as well as physical and mental effort on the garden?

I can think of a few reasons. There is a sense of contentment and tranquility that comes from observing either a single flower – or patchworks of color and texture that seem just right. The same feeling comes from watching a bumblebee climb in and out of the tubular flowers of smooth penstemon, or a monarch butterfly nectaring on purple coneflower, or goldfinches feeding on the ripe seeds of an anise hyssop.

The Penstemon digitalis ‘Husker Red’ is doing well this year.

Gardening is…

View original post 428 more words

19 Comments on “Why do we Garden?

  1. Congratulations, Jason! I didn’t see this post when you first published it, so I was glad to read it now. This was a nice piece of writing: Good job describing the rewards with which I (and most gardeners, I’m sure) are happily familiar!

  2. Good for you Jason! It’s a very good post and nicely summarizes the feelings of those of us who love to get out there. I particularly liked your observation about how being in the yard working in the garden is a great way to get to meet your neighbours, as living in an urban environment that is often not so easy to do.

  3. Loved it! Congrats on this feature Jason! I thoroughly enjoyed how you described work and how satisfying it is to get your hands in the dirt! I rarely where garden gloves either for that same reason! “This is joy” That says it all friend! The work you do in your garden is a gift to everyone around you! A wonderful weekend to you! Nicole

  4. Wow¬ Congratulations on a wonderful article that sums up beautifully why we all love to be out there knee deep in mud.xxx

    • Thanks. It’s true the internet allows us to make connections with relative ease that would been impossible or at least very difficult in the past.

Leave a Reply

