April GBFD: Spring Green

At this time of year the blooms of the spring bulbs tend to get all the glory. But it is also worth paying attention to the tender green growth of later herbaceous plants, as well as the woody plants that are just starting to break bud. This new growth has a freshness and sweetness that isn’t always fully appreciated.

'Donald Wyman' breaking bud.
‘Donald Wyman’ breaking bud.

The trees and shrubs are late in leafing out this year. Here is our crabapple ‘Donald Wyman’.

Clove Currant
Clove Currant

And clove currant (Ribes odorata). I am eager to see if this year’s flowers live up to their reputation for fragrance. Last year was disappointing.

Common Lilac
Common Lilac

Here are the breaking buds of our common lilac (Syringa vulgaris), though this picture was actually taken on April 12th.

Tulipa praestans 'Unicum'
Tulipa praestans ‘Unicum’

Some of the bulbs themselves have interesting foliage, like the variegated leaves of Tulipa praestans ‘Unicum’. This is another picture from the 12th, they are blooming now.

Celandine Poppy
Celandine Poppy

Among the herbaceous plants, I like new foliage of celandine poppies, downy on the undersides (Stylophorum diphyllum). The leaves seem to open like to hands unclasping or a clamshell opening.

Virginia bluebells young foliage.
Virginia bluebells young foliage.

Virginia bluebell (Mertensia virginica) foliage has a lovely blue green color. These are all over my garden now, and the flower buds are just forming.

Jacob's Ladder
Jacob’s Ladder

I am particularly fond of the ferny foliage of Jacob’s ladder (Polemonium reptans). I can imagine miniature people pulling themselves up the stems, leaflet by leaflet.

Bleeding Heart.
Bleeding Heart.

New foliage of bleeding heart (Lamprocapnos spectabilis) is almost frothy, and you can see the promise of the pink flowers in the red stems and leaves.

Take me to your leader. New peony foliage.
Take me to your leader. New peony foliage.

Peonies, on the other hand, look rather extraterrestrial when they first come up. Not sure which one this is.

Garden Blogger Foliage Day (GBFD) is hosted by Christine at My Hesperides Garden. She has an enviable garden in Lazio, Italy, worth checking out for the foliage and much else.

What’s your favorite new spring foliage?

 

18 Comments on “April GBFD: Spring Green

  1. Progress indeed after your long cold winter! I haven’t got a favourite, but if pushed today I really like the Hydrangea petiolaris foliage, it arrived and was smothered in a week this year.

  2. Great photos …lovely emerging buds and leaves! I am excited that my Blue Sky Thunbergia is coming back after being burnt to the ground by low temps in the teens which is rare in Houston TX.

  3. Love your new foliage! I need to get out with my camera as I have so much coming through right now! Have a great day! Nicole

  4. Thanks for joining in FBFD this month Jason; after your very long winter this year it must be wonderful to see the new foliage breaking through. I rather like your aliens that need a haircut!

  5. Seeing the first signs of spring always fills me with joy. There is just no accounting for me when things will decide to pop out of the ground. I had a hosta that refused to see the light of day until June last year — this year after the cold cold winter it is already fully leafed out in April. *fingers crossed* for your clove currant. I planted some this year for the first time and I am really excited.

  6. You have some great plants. I’m envious of your Jacob’s Ladder and Virginia bluebells, both of which I haven’t been able to establish. The name “clove currant” sounds like it would be a pleasant fragrance–hope it proves worthy of its name this year. susie

  7. Ah….yes, you can’t beat the tender new growth and all that it promises. I love it when it leafs out a little, the greens are all so fresh and vibrant, a wonderful time to be sure!xxx

  8. Nice time of the year, Jason, isn’t it? Small leaves, tulips, dicentra, peony — your photos reflect all these very well!

  9. Lots of lovely foliage peeping through and no snow at all! I am looking forward to seeing your M. Donald Wyman in bloom.

  10. It must be the peonys. They resemble rhubarb in colour. Also my Philadelphus Aureus. I like your Jacobs Ladder.

  11. Every spot of green looks good to me after winter clears out! For some reason I always like lilac for spring foliage, it comes out early, nothing bothers it, and the blooms always show up at the same time and look so promising.

  12. I’m crazy about the Bleeding Heart and Peony foliage. Another favorite is Bugbane, which has a similar curly, crazy form when it emerges. Oh, and Rhubarb is rather fun, too.

  13. I’m intrigued about the celandine poppy, looks beautiful and I don’t know it. You must be in heaven now that things really get going in your garden. There’s so much foliage I enjoy – it’s like asking me for my favourite flower 😉

  14. I love Spring foliage on the herbaceous perennials as they start into growth. Paeony foliage is particularly nice. I see your Dicentra spectabilis is popping through, ours in York UK are a bit ahead of yours but unfortunately our late spring frosts often come after earlier warm weather and frequently knocks them back.
    See you have caught up with the Bleeding Heart’s new name.Shame on me as holder of the UK national dicentra collection I cannot bear to call other than Dicentra!

Leave a Reply

