Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day: July, 2015

Finally! Our wet, cooler weather has delayed some of the excitement of summer in the garden, but as of today things are moving along.

DSC_0960 butterflyweed and daylily

Just yesterday the ‘Eye-yi-yi’ Daylilies (Hemorocallis) in the Driveway Border started bursting into bloom. Here they are with Butterflyweed (Asclepias tuberosa). Too much orange? Have I mentioned I really like orange flowers?

DSC_0752 butterflyweed

Let’s take a closer look at that Butterflyweed. I can never get enough of Butterflyweed.

DSC_0908 daylily

There are some other Daylilies as well. This one was a freebie thrown into an order from Oakes Daylilies. It’s become gigantic. I don’t remember the name, so I call it ‘Mr. Banana’.

DSC_0765 asiatic lilies

The Asiatic Lilies (Lilium) in the Left Bank Bed are past their peak, but they are still making a contribution. These are all descendents of a naturalizing mix I planted about eight years ago. Most of the remaining blooms are orange, but there are some smaller red and yellow ones as well.

DSC_0744 culver's root

Also in the Driveway Border, the ‘Temptation’ Culver’s Root (Veronicastrum virginicum) is blooming despite the depredations of the four-lined plant bug. The damage on the upper leaves is pretty apparent. Also, I noticed that some of the stems don’t have the secondary flower spikes that you usually see. The Anise Hyssop (Agastache foeniculum) was also ravaged by this pest, but it is just now barely starting to flower.

DSC_0635 Tithonia

I planted three Mexican Sunflower (Tithonia rotundifolia) in the Driveway Border, one near each end and one in the middle. Right now they are showing their first few flowers.

DSC_0745 tithonia and culvers root

The Mexican Sunflower looks great with the blue spikes of Culver’s Root ‘Temptation’.

DSC_0955 driveway border

Anyhow, here’s a view of the Driveway Border from near the front door.

DSC_0759 allium summer beauty

On the other side of the driveway, in the Left Bank Bed, my ‘Summer Beauty’ Alliums are blooming for the first time. I got these last fall from Rachelle of Talking to Plants. Thanks, Rachelle! Can’t wait to see these spread and fill in.

DSC_0661 helenium shortnsassy

In our new Lampost Bed, there are already some notable bloomers. First off, the dwarf Helenium ‘Short’n’Sassy’ (Helenium autumnale) sent to me by the good folks at Klehm’s Song Sparrow Farm. I couldn’t believe how early this guy started blooming, or how profusely.

DSC_0763 blanket flower gaillardia

The Blanket Flower ‘Arizona Sun’ (Gaillardia aristata) is this bed is also performing admirably.

DSC_0813 monarda

Now, the big news in the Sidewalk Border is that the ‘Raspberry Wine’ Bee Balm (Monarda didyma), and the Wild Bergamot (Monarda fistulosa) are blooming together. There is a much bigger block of Wild Bergamot in the Driveway Border, but it is not yet ready to pop.

DSC_0902 monarda

Sad to say, downy mildew is already apparent on the Wild Bergamot, though much less so on ‘Raspberry Wine’.

DSC_0821 monarch on swamp milkweed

Swamp Milkweed (Asclepias incarnata) is blooming in both the Sidewalk Border and the Front Island Bed. While Judy was taking pictures, our resident Monarch butterfly deigned to let us watch her nectar on the flowers.

DSC_0833  spiderwort

Also in the Front Island Bed, the Ohio Spiderwort (Tradescantia ohiensis) continues to bloom longer into summer than I think is normal. I guess we have the cooler weather to thank.

DSC_0796 clematis

If we head towards the back garden, we will pass the Clematis ‘Jackmanii Superba’, still going strong. I’m not going to be coy about this. This Clematis is superb indeed – also magnificent, stupendous, and fabulous. There, I said it. And there are still lots of buds that have yet to open.

DSC_0801 clematis

In this light it looks more blue than purple.

You know what? It’s getting late, and I haven’t even done the back garden. Though there isn’t nearly as much going on back there as there is in front, But still, I think I’ll do a supplemental Bloom Day post tomorrow.

Garden Bloggers Bloom Day is sponsored by Carol at May Dreams Gardens. Visit her blog to see many more superlative blooms.

Which garden blooms are making you happy today?

69 Comments on “Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day: July, 2015

  1. You’ve been getting weather that is usually typical of the PNW. I love orange in the garden, your milkweed coupled with that orange daylily with the dark eye is a wonderful combo. My ‘Raspberry Wine’ Monarda is blooming right now too. Happy GBBD!

  2. Lovely! Lovely! Lovely!
    Orange is a symbol of summer to me!
    Happy Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day!
    Lea

  3. I’m a huge fan of orange flowers too. Love your Driveway Border and the combo of orange and blue/purple (one of my favourites). My first Tithonia flower bloomed yesterday too. Very exciting. That clematis is fantastic!

  4. Very nice display Jason. The color orange really pops and looks so good with all the blues and purples. Your garden will be wonderful for your garden tour. I hope the insect damage is being reduced, here the Japanese Beetles are bad this year.

  5. Lovely blooms! I just viewed photos of Ina Garten’s gardens where she has clematis ‘Jackmanii’ blooming profusely on her arbor entrance. It is indeed superb! Can’t wait for mine to mature.

  6. oh my so lovely! Purple culver root-I have the white but that purple is a beauty:-) I have most of my flowers in the front for I grow more annual flowers with my vegetables in the back. I love all the color and I might add-I LOVE ORANGE TOO in the garden:-) People say orange is the hardest to use in the garden. I don’t find that problem for I always have to find a place to add orange!

    • They do say that about orange, don’t they. I was looking at the garden the other day and trying to figure out WHY they say that.

      • I can’t figure that out either. In the fall, I can’t imagine a garden without “orange” or “red”…they say “red” draws the eye, I assume orange does in the garden also. I enjoy them both and am not afraid to add them where I feel a little drama is needed! Go Orange:-)

  7. Oh, what beautiful pictures! What a yard you have. And you were quite right not to be coy about clematis. Today is a gray day in Maine, but starting the morning with your post made it a little brighter.

  8. Jason what a beautiful show your garden is giving you (and us) today. I’m jealous of your beautiful bee balm. 😉 Mine is a washed out purple and i need to get some of that red stuff!

  9. Jason, it’s Diane from My Cottage Garden again. I wanted you to know that I’m starting a new blog and i hope you’ll follow me there now. It’s going to be mainly photographs (I’ll do a post on My Cottage Garden to explain later), but it will still have photos of my garden but other kinds of photos as well. Plus I’m changing to word press. Diane

  10. Indeed your Clematis is still looking wonderful. I love the strong colours you are enjoying at the moment. All that orange is just what we need in July. Your Monarda bed is stunning.

  11. I’m surprised your Butterfly Weed is still in bloom–mine has faded. I absolutely adore Summer Beauty Allium, one of the very few non-natives i’ve allowed in my garden.

  12. I think your garden has enjoyed the rain even if you haven’t! It is all looking really lush and gorgeous.

  13. A little purple with the orange (of which there can NEVER be too much) lifts it into the stratosphere.

    • I planned to have blue in the form of Anise Hyssop but it’s very late in blooming thanks to the damage done by four-lined plant bugs. I’m thinking of splurging so I can plunk one or two tall annual blue Salvias (like Black and Blue) into that border. There’s also a dwarf Buddleia but it blooms later.

  14. Your garden has definitely enjoyed the rain! I love the orange flowers – it’s great to see them used en masse. The clematis is just superb!

  15. Wow! It’s all looking splendid! Lovely pic of your monarch….and that clematis certainly deserves a fanfare! Stunning it certainly is….and the perfect colour!xxx

  16. Our wild bergamot also has that mildew. It came earlier this year, but the flowers are bright. Purple with envy over your clematis.

  17. The bold colors are great, and nothing says bold better than orange! Your clematis really is amazing but the raspberry wine and butterfly weed are my favorites. Of course I never planted the tithonia this spring and of course I’m regretting it again this summer when I see your pictures.

  18. Such a variety and all so beautiful!! I love the Culver’s Root and the alliums, and well, just all of it!

  19. The Culver’s Root/Tithonia combination is fabulous! Yes, the cooler weather is delaying things for me, too. It’s weird to look back and see how much earlier some of the blooms appeared last summer! I totally agree with your Butterfly Weed assessment. I only wish I had more sun for it.

  20. What cheerful colours. Short ‘n’ Sassy packs quite a punch and I think that the Tithonia/Veronicastrum pairing works brilliantly.

  21. Hi Jason, I answered your question by replying on my blog, but I’m never sure whether or not people find those answers. Here’s what I said: “Hi Jason, thanks for looking at my new blog! I’m not really sure what the plant is, other than mallow. My mother-in-law considers it a bit of a ‘weed’ because grows out of it’s space, but the flowers are so darn pretty. I looked up Sidalcea, but I can’t really tell. I’ll get a better look at the leaves next time I visit her.”

  22. The driveway view is great – I like to see the overall pictures once in a while. Everything is full and lush.
    Ray

  23. I must admit that there is orange and there is orange. I have some Heleniums that supply a nice pop of color at a distance, but nothing I particularly like close-up. However, yours are fun! Can’t describe my response better than that. And I love Mexican Sunflowers! There’s something almost dessert-like about that orange that gets even better next to the Culvers Root. Madame Butterfly did indeed honor you both with posing the way she did. I’m sure she appreciates your efforts on her behalf.
    Fantastic summer garden!
    P.S. The monster clematis really will eat your house. If you wake up one morning to blue-purple light, you’ll know.

  24. I love orange flowers too. And red ones… Your garden is wonderful! And kudos to you for helping the Monarchs – that is a great shot! Last year, your Veronicastrum made a deep impression on me, and I’m happy to announce that this past week, I found one for myself. Any advice on how to make it happy?

    • Enjoy your Veronicastrum! Mainly I think it likes sun and medium moisture soil. I haven’t given mine a lot of attention, other than I use a peony hoop to keep them from flopping over too much, though you may not need to do that.

      • Oh, good one. I hadn’t thought about staking – I might have to go into prevention mode on that one. Thanks!

  25. Love those hot colors in your garden, especially the orange daylily/butterfly week combination. I envy you your monarch butterfly. I got all excited when I saw an orange butterfly flitting about near my milkweed a couple of days ago, but it turned out to be a fritillary.

Leave a Reply

