Will Vinyl Predators Keep Birds Safe

Our back porch has nice, big windows. Nice big windows that invite birds to fly up and go THUNK right into them. This makes me worry about keeping my status as Friend of Birds. What if inspectors from the Audubon Society show up and start asking questions?

cat sticker
I took these pictures with my phone on a very grey morning, so they’re not very good.

So I was intrigued when my friend Ricky of Sprigs and Twigs posted about the vinyl predators she had started selling. The vinyl clings to the glass of the windows. It can be easily moved around or put away in a plastic sleeve if it is no longer wanted.

window hawk

Apparently one of the limitations of silhouettes as a deterrent to bird/window crashes is that the birds get used to them because they stay in the same place. But that problem may be lessened if the vinyl predators move around.

cat and hawk

Anyhow, I thought I would give them a try. I got a cat and a hawk. The cat looks a bit like it is levitating. I put them on the upper part of the window so they don’t block our view at all when we are sitting on the porch.

I certainly hope they reduce the number of bird collisions. We’ll see. If you’d like to check them out for yourself, follow this link.

38 Comments on “Will Vinyl Predators Keep Birds Safe

  1. Wow, those are cute. I think the cat is staring down the hawk, you know–just daring him/her to come the cat’s way.

  2. It wouldn’t surprise me if cats levitated . . .

    We keep a couple of colorful window clings on our sliding glass door that Emma made (from a Klutz book, where you can make window clings) but I didn’t know about the birds getting used to their placement –which might explain why we still get birds hitting the door. They aren’t so easy to move around, so I might look into the vinyl ones you’ve linked to.

  3. Ha! Love the levitating cat! I hear the “thunk” rarely but I think it’s because there are lots of branches near my windows. Hope it works for you!

  4. It will be interesting to hear if it helps Jason. We have a big problem here, as our south side is just glass. Last winter I stuck tiny vinyl snowflakes all over the windows (also removable) – they barely show up unless the light catches them and they seem to have helped immensely. Another success is hanging something glittery in front of the window that then moves in the breeze, but that’s on a piece of window where we don’t notice it thank goodness!

  5. Seeing the garden from the porch provides a nice overview of its layout, which I had somehow turned around in my head. Good luck with the stickers and let us know if they work.

  6. I had the same problem and beautiful birds were being killed. I ordered custom made grilles (muntin?) from the internet that look just like true divided light windows once attached and I have not had one bird die since installation 5 years ago these were ordered online and delivered to my door. Installation was easy and they can be removed for cleaning

  7. Keep us posted! I hate it when birds crash into windows. Not a common occurrence at the little house in the big woods, but it does happen.

  8. I’ve not had birds crash into my windows, perhaps because they have noticed the windows need cleaning! However, Carolina wrens are frequent visitors in house, flying through open doors or windows in late spring/early summer. Good luck with your deterrents.

  9. Thanks for the plug, Jason. They look perfectly at home surveying your back yard. I sure hope they do their job and will be looking forward to a full report.

  10. I’ve installed screens over the glass doors without screens that I have. It’s a simple project. All you need is some screen material cut into a large piece that will cover the window/door glass from top to bottom and some 1″ x 2″ wood strips cut to the width of the glass window/door. The screen is then stapled to 2 of the wood strips–one at the top of the screen and one at the bottom of the screen material. Then the whole screen with the wood strips on the top and bottom can be screwed into either your “window” frame or the siding. I usually take the screens down over the winter since my glass strikes occur in the spring, summer and fall.

  11. I hope these work for you. They should be quite enough to break up the reflection. As for Audubon they won’t come to inspect but if you ever have a bird that’s stunned but not dead I think you might be able to call Chicago Bird Collision Monitors,,, 🙂

  12. Sunil makes a good point. When I was a teenager, my mom walked through a heavy glass door and had terrible injuries. She had too many stitches to count. She recovered over time and is still quite healthy now, but it was scary at the time. So, anyway … I can see how they’d be good for the people and the birds. I’m thinking about buying some of Ricki’s decals, myself. My windows are dirtier than Mom’s, but we sometimes have bird collisions, too–especially during peak migration times. Yours look great overlooking your backyard and patio.

    • Well, when I was 10 years old, I used to play “bullfight” with my older brother. I was the bull. At one point I charged into the sliding glass door, cracking the door (if my memory can be trusted) and ending up with a bleeding scalp. I’ve avoided bullfights ever since.

  13. These are delightful; I hope they work out. I haven’t had a bird fly into a window for many years, but I do sometimes get an irate male bird sitting on top of an open casement window and trying to chase away its own reflection from its territory.

Leave a Reply

