Lentil Stew with Butternut Squash

I haven’t done a food post in a really long time, so I thought I would write about one of Judy’s new favorite recipes. “New” being a relative concept – actually she’s been making this regularly for the last couple of months.

IMG_0244
Lentil Stew with Butternut Squash and Ground Lamb

My enthusiasm for lentils is kept well under control, but I’ll admit that this stew is delicious. The recipe comes from the New York Times, and you can find it here. Judy has, of course, made many variations on the original.

The recipe posted by the NYT calls for lamb and pumpkin. Judy has made vegetarian versions and also substituted ground lamb. Instead of pumpkin, she uses butternut squash, and I’m sure any winter squash would do.

We also find that we like it when she adds a pinch of hot red pepper and doubles the amount of turmeric, cinnamon, and cumin called for. Also, I like to add a dollop of yogurt (or, if  Judy isn’t watching, sour cream).

It’s a good warming meal for cool or cold weather. Give it a try, even if you are not a big fan of lentils.

34 Comments on “Lentil Stew with Butternut Squash

  1. Looks delicious! I adore butternut squash except for what the sap does to my hands… I have been making Red Lentil Soup with Lemon, another NY Times recipe, all winter, so we’re sort of on the same page.

  2. This looks delicious. We are real fans of winter squash. I am not a fan of lamb, however. I wonder if another meat would serve as well?

  3. I’m now halfway across the country, so I didn’t know he was going to post this. This stew is shockingly delicious, even if you think you don’t care for lentils. I have made both the pieces of lamb version and the veggie version as in Bittman’s recipe, and loved them, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t also created my own versions.

    The first thing you need to know is that this is like making homemade vegetable soup, in that you can’t possibly go wrong adding a little of this and a little of that.

    Here are my variations (to date) on the original recipe.

    Cubes of lamb = too much work. Ground lamb works well, and I bet ground beef or turkey would also. Lamb is pricy, but one pound makes four very hearty servings. You could also stretch it by serving it over rice.

    It is possible that I got lazy enough to buy frozen chunks of butternut squash (peeling a squash is quite a feat.) Don’t add them too soon or they melt away. Fresh is better, but the best stew is the one that gets made. One ten ounce bag is kind of skimpy, especially if you like squash.

    And lentils take forever to cook! Turns out you can also buy them frozen. Who knew.

    Now here’s the key: augmenting the spices. Increase everything Bittman calls for by 30% or so. Then add half a teaspoon of allspice, ditto of ground coriander, and a couple shakes of ground cloves. Plus black pepper. Red pepper sparingly if desired.

    I have never added raisins, but I bet it would be good. I did add a package of mixed chopped greens (they were frozen) the other night when I thought we needed more green veggies, and it was good. I almost threw in a handful of peanuts once, but maybe I was just being crazy.

    This stuff is even better the second day.

    • Judy, you’ve convinced me! I will be making this soon. Thanks for the tips. Love Mark Bittman! I have his “How to Cook Everything Vegetarian.” It is one of my go-to cookbooks.

  4. Sounds really delicious! Are you using stored squash? I’ll save this to use when I have butternut squash ready to harvest in autumn, I’ll look forward to it.

  5. Ha ha, love Judy’s comment above. I’m not sure I’d be able to get the lentils past our three kids but it does look and sound delicious. Thanks for the recommendation.

  6. You gotta love a man who takes a picture of his food before he eats it:^) This looks yummy and I’m not waiting for cold weather to try it.

  7. I have just sown my butternut squash seeds. I will bookmark this recipe in anticipation of a glut. (Aren’t gardeners an optimistic bunch?!) I like the idea of adding a dollop of sour cream.

  8. I actually really like lentils, and this recipe sounds great. Up until this year, I really hated butternut squash 🙂 I think I’d had it sweetened, and I’ve found that I really love it when it has middle eastern spices. I also love lamb, so this sounds like one I’ll need to bookmark.

  9. Boy oh boy! My mouth was watering as I read this post. Looks like my kind of stew. And in Maine, we can comfortably eat stew (or soup) eight months of the year.

  10. Looks so tempting. Do you use French lentils (de puy) or any type? I’m always looking for different ways to use leftover lamb roast and this looks like a good one. Sour cream is a definite “yes”!

    • I don’t know much about lentils, I just use what comes to hand. I’ve used dry, frozen, and shrink wrapped precooked.

  11. Looks delish! One of my favorite recipes is a lamb, butternut, pomegranate stew. I never thought of using ground lamb. What a great idea. A couple of tablespoons of pomegranate molasses would complement the ingredients you mention, if Judy feels like trying it.

  12. I made this last night and it gets a big thumbs up! Thanks to Judy for all the extra tips. Couldn’t find frozen pumpkin or squash here, so used frozen cubes of sweet potatoes, and it was fabulous.

  13. I just love lentils and will certainly give that a whirl, I’m sure it’s tasty without the lamb.xxx

Leave a Reply

