Spring, Winter, Spring, Winter – Enough Already!

It’s time for spring to stop goofing around and get serious. Last weekend we had snow, and I really am not in the mood for any more winter wonderland. There wasn’t much accumulation and it melted pretty fast, but still.

DSC_0746
A light sprinkle of April snow in the back garden.

And now we may get more of the same kind of limited but unseemly snowfall this coming weekend. All this April snow is causing disorientation as to season.

Here’s a little video Judy took on Saturday of April snowflakes.

Also, in a few days the temperature is supposed to go several degrees below freezing, which causes the Daffodils and other plants to go limp, as their cells pump out water to reduce the danger of bursting. A clever adaptation, but droopy Daffodils cause my spirits to droop as well.

With a little perspective, I force myself to admit that April was a lot worse in 2015 than it has been so far this year. Also, friends in other parts of the country have been hit with a lot more snow and cold than we’ve had to cope with here. Still, if you can’t complain about the weather, what can you do?

Also, I want to get out in the garden this weekend. Oh, where are the sunny but comfortably cool days of April?

63 Comments on “Spring, Winter, Spring, Winter – Enough Already!

  1. Thats so disruptive for you, your garden and your wildlife Jason, I hope you have a return to better weather soon.

  2. Well, if there is too much snow to garden, perhaps you can make a snow angel. I would like to see a video of that, please! Our current forecast for Saturday night in the Upstate (SC) is 33 F. In all honesty, I’d like to have a stern word with Mother Nature. Doesn’t she know who her friends are?!!!

    • Sorry, not enough snow for angels. Maybe in December. Mother Nature seems to be a very fickle friend indeed – a fair weather friend, one might say.

  3. Hi Jason, it sounds as if we are having similar weather to yourselves and I for one am getting heartily sick of it!

  4. This has been the worst April so far. I will join you for a little whine. It is supposed to freeze the next several nights. I am sick of it already. We must be patient. We must be…

  5. In just a t-shirt, I took 25 bags of leaves off the perennial beds, and two days later it dropped to the 20’s and snowed. Excuse me Mother Nature, but enough all ready. We just keep going from winter to spring and there’s not a lot that can be done outside here right now. Frustrating for sure, and I wonder about fruit crops. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I can tell you that my crabapple tree did not seem to get many visits from pollinators this year. Many of the days the blooms were open, the weather was cold, windy and/or rainy. I do wonder whether that will translate into fewer pollinated flowers and less fruit. It will be interesting to see.

      (Last year, the tree bloomed about a week later, was covered with buzzing bees, wasps and other pollinators, and ultimately produced a bumper crop of fruit.)

  6. We had frost yesterday and it’s forecast again for Sunday morning. I can move the pots into the garage, but other things are in danger. I just want the hummingbirds to show up and this cold weather isn’t helping.

  7. Hope milder weather comes your way soon and you get a good stretch of time in the garden.

  8. Being changeable like this is worse than spring just being late. Hope none of your plants are lured into flowering too early and then being lost. When is the last time you could have snow?

  9. Oh, misery loves company! Our weather patterns have been the same as yours. The only difference is that the flowers are not yet in bloom in central Maine. They have learned not to show their pretty heads until the end of the month or the beginning of May ๐Ÿ˜‰

  10. I’ve been feeling the same way, Jason. We haven’t had the snow, but it’s been so cold recently, and there’s a freeze warning for tomorrow. I think I’m more antsy than usual because of the warm days we had earlier, and I have a lot of half-finished clean-up jobs. And even if it isn’t so cold, the wind has been horrendous!

  11. We all can relate – here on Wednesday we got almost a FOOT of snow after it had all melted!

  12. The weather is like a yo-yo here too. Hard freeze expected Saturday night. Spring, please come and stay!

  13. Today has consisted of several blizzardy snow showers –the wind! I thought we had enough wind in March. We’re all getting kind of grumpy.

  14. Gardeners are known for their patience…. as well as their impatience! Hope it warms up enough for you this weekend Jason.

  15. I completely agree with you. It also driving me crazy. All my asparagus are sending out shoots and they are flopping back limp with cold. Let’s all together complain so that the weather listens; then she forces out winter and brings back in spring ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. I feel for you and your garden/yard. Our weather has also been weird, very on and off, but the strangest thing for us has been that rather than straight rain or snow, we’ve been having hailstorms with strong winds.

  17. This is payback for the warm weather we had in December and January โ€“ I am sure everything evens out eventually, it usually does. I would have preferred to have the warm weather NOW though! Over here in Britain we have had a rather cold spring so far too, but no snow yet in London, and I sincerely hope I wonโ€™t see any now, although the latest I have seen snow in previous years is 8th Aprilโ€ฆ..not jinxing anything, am I??
    I am planning a week-end doing gardening work, hope you can do the same ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. 04/09/2016 Saturday AM 2 inches of fresh “spring-time” arrived last night. My poor peonies!
    This will make a beautiful Christmas card in December.

  19. They are predicting a little wet snow here tomorrow morning. After our mild winter, April really is living up to its billing as “the cruelest month.”

  20. Limp daffadowndillies would dishearten me too! Snow is not on, at all! Bad weather shouldn’t happen to good people! Hope it warms up and you get out soon.xxx

  21. Hello Jason, I just learned (yet another) new thing from you – that daffodils and other early flowering plants pump out water to stop their cells from bursting in freezing conditions. I thought daffodils went limp because they became frosted and their cells burst and somehow, they were very quick to recover. I got the cause and effect the wrong way round for years!

Leave a Reply

