The Front Garden at the End of July

So we’re leaving on vacation tomorrow, but before we go I wanted to show you what’s going on in the front garden as we stand at August’s front door.

DSC_0002

For starters, here are the ‘Summer Beauty’ Alliums in full bloom (A. tanguticum).

DSC_0113

There’s a bee frenzy going on all over these blooms. This picture give you a little taste of it. How many bees can you count here?

DSC_0033

The ‘Raspberry Wine’ Bee Balm (Monarda didyma) is still blooming, though some of the flowers are fading a bit.

DSC_0035

Another Bee Balm, ‘Purple Rooster’, starts blooming later than ‘Raspberry Wine’. It’s more compact, and I like the color.

DSC_0165

In the same genus as bee balm, the prairie wildflower Wild Bergamot (Monarda fistulosa) goes well with Cup Plant (Silphium perfoliatum).

DSC_0043

The butterflyweed (Asclepias tuberosa) is almost all gone, but there is still plenty of Swamp Milkweed (A. incarnata).

DSC_0125

The Yellow Coneflower (Ratibida pinnata) is at its peak.

DSC_0127

The Mexican Sunflower (Tithonia rotundifolia) is not yet at full stride, but it’s gaining speed.

DSC_0132

Here’s a view of the grassy path between the Driveway Border and the Front Island Bed.

DSC_0121

And here’s a view of the Driveway Border from the sidewalk. Those are the last of the ‘Conca D’Or’ Orienpet Lilies.

So, you’ll never guess where we are going to tomorrow: Japan. Not a place we ever expected to visit, but Judy is travelling there for work, and it only made sense to take advantage of the opportunity.

I won’t be on the blog much for the next two weeks or so, but I’ll try to post a few pictures while we’re gone. In the meantime, enjoy these days of high summer.

50 Comments on “The Front Garden at the End of July

  1. Your bee attracting flowers in the front garden look wonderful, I hope some of them will still be blooming when you get back. I would love to see Japanese gardens, and it is a manageable flight from Australia….so I’ll be interested to see your photos. Hope you and Judy enjoy Japan.

  2. Have a wonderful time, what an experience that will be!
    Your front garden is looking beautiful, so colourful. I hope it manages without you.

  3. Your monardas are stunning. I remember your garden always looks wonderful in August. But how exciting going to Japan. Have a wonderful time.

  4. I must get me a purple rooster. Handsome dude. Your garden looks so lush. It makes me want to get out there and start planting more and more when I see your pictures. Have a great time in Japan. I hope you and Judy both take lots of pictures and you can share your impressions of that far away place.

  5. I, too, love that purple rooster. Bon voyage. Hope you can visit some gardens over there. And, yes, take lots of pictures to share.

  6. What a lovely sight! You must give your neighbors such pleasure when they’re passing by.
    Will look forward to pictures of Japanese gardens if you’re able to visit a few. Have fun!

  7. I always want Tithonia after I look at your site! I started some seeds this spring, but germination was poor, to say the least. I should have ponied up the $4 a plant a local nursery was charging. There’s always next year, I suppose! It’s a nice collection of Monarda you have, too. I have ‘Pink Supreme’ and it’s almost done, and starting to mildew a bit. The summer Allium is nice too. What an inspiration your garden is, Jason! I hope you and your wife have a great time in Japan and that you get to see lots of gardens!

  8. Jason, I love your garden photos, especially as they really show how tall the garden gets at this time of year! I just added Monarda ‘Raspberry Wine’ and ‘Purple Rooster’ this year, so I look forward to swaths of color like you have in a few years. Enjoy your trip to Japan!

  9. The garden is looking fabulous Jason! I do hope you get the chance to see some Japanese gardens while there. Have a great time!

  10. Gorgeous, gorgeous, all the way around! I LOVE the ‘Summer Beauty’ Alliums! I just added some last fall and they’re starting to bloom now. They’re not as full and colorful in the (partial) shade, but they still bloom. I’m a little behind your schedule with my shady plants, but similar progress in the sun. Your Cup Plant/Monarda combination is fabulous!

  11. Bon voyage! (sorry, I don’t know any Japanese). You should have some swell stories to share upon your return.

  12. What a gorgeous riot of color! I must make a note to plant some summer alliums. Enjoy your trip–what an exciting adventure!

  13. I love monarda but have had no luck with it in my garden so I enjoy seen nag it in others, such as yours. The yellow coneflower is a stunner as well. I look forward to your travel posts.

  14. Thank you for the picture of Allium tanguticum. I have some but have always been disappointed with it. I see from your picture that it is because my clump is too small. They come into their own when you have large enough a clump.

  15. I think I like the bee balm as much as those bees. Just lovely. Everything is really thriving for you!
    Japan you say??? Goodness, how interesting. I shall look forward to hearing all about it. Take lots of pics! Have a marvelous trip, safe travels.xxx

  16. Your summer garden is so colorful, and must certainly be a delight for butterflies and other pollinators. You have such lovely allium, bee balm, and asclepias, all plants I have struggled with. Enjoy your vacation!

  17. Had to smile at your first pix as a UK blogger recently said that Allium Summer Beauty was unfamiliar to her. In this region it’s hard not to trip over Summer Beauty. But what I great plant. I can’t get enough of it. Yours makes quite a statement.

  18. Hope you’re having a great time in Japan. How exciting!
    The monardas look great, I love them in general but this summer has been hard on mine.
    There’s always next year 🙂

  19. Your garden looks stunning, the Monardas are really striking, I really struggle with them here and they always but always contract powdery mildew.

    • Some varieties, like ‘Raspberry Wine’, are more resistant than others, but of course that depends in part on growing conditions.

  20. That’s looking stunning Jason, you have so many late-summer flowering plants! We’re beginning to run out of steam for flowers in August. While we’ve yet to make the large herbaceous border, we don’t have many plants that flower later in the year.

Leave a Reply

