A Host of Daffodil (Bulbs) Arrive

A few days ago I received 2oo daffodil bulbs from Colorblends Wholesale Flowerbulbs. This is a joyful occurrence in itself, but what made it especially delightful was that the bulbs were free. This was thanks to the generosity of Colorblends and the hard work of the organizers of the Minneapolis Garden Bloggers Fling, which Judy and I attended back in July.

img_0475

The daffodils in question were Colorblends’ Spring Loaded daffodil mix, which includes 20+ varieties of all colors. It’s nice to have lots of different kinds of bulbs, though it can be a challenge to figure out exactly what you’ve got, even when they are in bloom.

Now that they’ve arrived, though, I’m wondering if I got the right blend. I could have ordered the 3D, which has just three varieties, all of them yellow. Though to be honest, that sounds a little boring.

Or I could have gotten The Gold Shoulder, which combines two varieties, one white and one yellow. There are other options as well. Every time I point out to Judy a different option I could have chosen, all she does is shrug and say: “Too late now”.  She seems to be abdicating her responsibility to engage in sympathetic spousal fretting.

img_0478

I will say that all the bulbs look to be of substantial size and in fine condition – no bruises or soft spots.

My intention is to plant some of the daffodils in the back garden containers and the rest in the Parkway Bed. Unfortunately, due to rain and my work schedule I had very limited time for planting this weekend. I’d say at most I got 30 planted, which means about 170 to go. And the tulips haven’t even arrived yet.

However, on my honor I say that no bulb shall go unplanted.

img_0479

Finally, let me share this observation: 200 daffodil bulbs are dang heavy.

 

 

44 Comments on “A Host of Daffodil (Bulbs) Arrive

  1. 200 free daffodils! What a blessing! I have always planted a random mix of daffodil bulbs for a season-extending, naturalized look. I love the effect.

    • I planted a mix with many varieties some years ago. The effect was very nice, though over the years only a few varieties stuck around.

  2. 200 daffodils…..I wish!! Really looking forward to seeing your spring garden, and good luck with the planting. What would we do without gardens? Such fun waiting for the next seasons’ plants, and now I can also live vicariously through bloggers gardens too!

  3. One day in spring when you are yearning for colour you will no doubt be happy whatever they turn out to be! I haven’t started my bulb planting yet…

  4. Fantastic, 200 free bulbs! My back aches at the thought of planting them all though, however it will be worth it next spring!

  5. Aren’t they fabulous! I’m still waiting on mine. Still too early here to plant bulbs. The bulbs I planted from Colorblends last year were spectacular this past spring. You won’t be disappointed. Looking forward to seeing photos of them in bloom next year.

  6. Great photo of your weight training regime…fits perfectly with the notion you live in a Wildlife Habitat. But seriously, you are a very lucky guy. Not just for the bulbs, but for a very clever wife who tries to keep you on track:^)

  7. You know how bulbs are: even when you know what you’re planting, seeing the real thing in the spring is always a bit of a surprise. So this will just be a bigger surprise. Love the concept of “spousal fretting.”

  8. I wandered lonely as a Cloud
    That floats on high o’er Vales and Hills,
    When all at once I saw a crowd
    A host of dancing Daffodils;

    (your garden, next spring)

  9. So wonderful to have that much space to plant all those bulbs. A lot of work but what a feast for the eyes they’ll be when they bloom!

  10. We haven’t got ours yet! I can’t wait till spring to see yours in bloom!!!

  11. Wow – those are a lot of bulbs! I laughed at your fretting over your decision. I’m like that both before and after when choosing from many options. I may sit there for hours trying to decide, but more often then not, end up choosing my initial pick (which I usually find in the first minute or so). And then, afterward, there is the second guessing over whether or not I made the right choice.

  12. I’m impressed. My bulbs just arrived and will be patiently waiting until I have time to plant them. Our extended lovely weather has prolonged my getting-ready-for-winter (and spring) routine.

  13. What an absolute windfall, I can imagine how thrilled you were to receive them. I know what you mean about planting them all though, I planted a hundred once and that took a fair bit of time. I look forward to seeing them in spring.xxx

  14. We are at least a month plus away from planting time here. I’m not sure my back can deal with 200 bulbs, so I will settle for a more modest number.

  15. My bulb planting project for this year is crocus bulbs; I ordered 350. Unlike the daffodils, 200 crocus bulbs fit in a brown sandwich bag and weigh very little.

      • Fedco (where I bought my bulbs) recommends sprinkling ground cloves on top of the planting holes to disrupt the squirrels’ ability to sniff out where the bulbs are. We’ll see how it works, but so far I’ve seen no evidence of any animals trying to dig up my bulbs.

Leave a Reply

