Seedhead Sunday

Scott at Rhone Street Gardens had the idea of posting a picture of seedheads on every Sunday. The inspiration was well-timed, as fall and winter are the seasons for seedheads in the garden. I was struck by some of the seedheads  I saw in the garden this afternoon, so I’ve decided to shamelessly imitate Scott’s idea.

dsc_0114

Let’s start with some Switchgrass (Panicum virgatum). What more can I say about this native grass? It is a monarch among grasses.

dsc_0117

One more picture of the Switchgrass.

dsc_0134

And now, for something completely different: Joe Pye Weed (Eutrochium maculatum).

dsc_0137

Finally, let’s conclude with some Ironweed (Vernonia fasciculata).

That’s all for now. Have a great week!

47 Comments on “Seedhead Sunday

  1. I love iron weed…such a pretty color and a boon for insects in late summer and fall. I don’t think I’ve ever noticed the pretty seedheads, though.

  2. Seed heads would be greater if they didn’t drop seeds. I spend a lot of my summer pulling up Northern sea oats, Black-eyed Susans and Joe-Pye weed. Good for the birds, bad for my back.

  3. I love ironweed. I have tried to get it going in my garden before. hmmmm Maybe it didn’t have enough sun. I love seeing the seedheads of plants. It looks like the future.

  4. Lovely picture of the switchgrass. I have a stand of ironweed in my garden that I’d forgotten was there, but the deep purple was gorgeous when it bloomed.

  5. Your switchgrass seed heads are wonderful, especially the first one. I’ve tried and tried to capture them in the field but the camera just doesn’t see what I see. Aren’t seed heads fun?

  6. Gardens Illustrated had some incredible photos of seed heads several years ago. They can be very artistic subjects.

  7. Lovely! In my early days of gardening, I was like an immature teen, thinking only blooms were beautiful. But I’ve come to appreciate the beauty of seedheads and especially enjoy them covered in snow–not that I am wishing for snow yet!! Beautiful photo of the switchgrass.

  8. Lovely – I’m particularly intrigued by the switchgrass. Must take a closer look at my ornamental grasses to see what I can see.

Leave a Reply

