Noerenberg Memorial Garden

So another Minneapolis-area spot that we discovered thanks to the Garden Bloggers Fling is the Noerenberg Memorial Garden.

dsc_0283

Now a county park, this used to be the estate of a Minnesota beer magnate. His descendants left it to the public, which was very nice of them. The park has quite a lot of lovely shoreline along Lake Minnetonka, a few miles west of Minneapolis.

dsc_0260

There are extensive brick paths lined with exuberant flowering borders.

dsc_0262

The flingers were in their element.

dsc_0265

What I enjoyed most about this garden was the creative plant combinations. For example, these Baptisia seed pods with Purple Coneflower (Echinacea purpurea).

dsc_0263

I know a lot of people consider Love-in-A-Mist (Nigella damascena) to be kind of a nuisance plant. Perhaps because I don’t grow it, I find it to be really charming. It’s wonderful here with the Salvia and grasses.

dsc_0256

Not sure what that purple annual is, but it’s a fantastic companion for the ‘Blonde Ambition’ Blue Grama Grass (Bouteloua gracilis).

dsc_0304

Allium seedheads with Purple Coneflower and Calamint (Calamintha nepetoides). The fine textured, glowing Calamint looks really good with the dark, solid Coneflowers.

dsc_0275

Blue Vervain (Verbena hastata) rising up out of the Salvia – looks like some giant blue-headed creature emerging from the sea. After this I was compelled to get some Blue Vervain of my very own. It’s a host for Common Buckeye butterflies, by the way.

dsc_0269

Not a combination, but a nice patch of Foxglove (Digitalis purpurea).

dsc_0276

This is definitely a garden worth checking out if you are in the Minneapolis region.

38 Comments on “Noerenberg Memorial Garden

    • There’s one I haven’t written about yet – a sort of private sculpture garden maintained by the artist – that you would have fallen in love with.

  1. Aaaahhhhhhh Summer. I miss you already 🙂
    Love that there are a few summer flowering shrubs to add height to the border. That and the lakefront setting and it’s a garden hard to beat!

  2. How delightful would it be to have a gazebo overlooking the water like that? Yummy border behind the bending photographer.

  3. I love that gazebo looking over the water. Your photos have reminded me to look out for purple coneflowers, they are a plus in any garden.

  4. I enjoyed this garden a lot (what’s new??) 🙂 I really loved the Nigella too – I didn’t know what it was so had to ask. What’s ironic is that I am very familiar with it in the kitchen (as in Nigella/kalonji seeds) but had no idea that’s where they came from.

  5. Looks like the perfect garden to enjoy on a sunny summer day. You highlighted some nice plant and flower combos, too. That picture of the ‘Blonde Ambition’ reminds me I need to do something about mine, which appears to have largely given up trying – so much for ambition.

  6. We really enjoyed this lovely garden! I enjoyed sitting in the gazebo looking out at the lake. Thank you for the photos and reminding me of this garden!

  7. Oh yes, love this kind of garden. The combinations are lovely. That purple plant looks like Verbena bonariensis to me. You should try growing Nigella – it pops up in unexpected places if allowed to go to seed and I look forward to seeing it each year. 🙂

Leave a Reply

