Perennial Winners and Losers in the Sidewalk Border

The Sidewalk Border was the second border that I added to the garden. We moved into our house in July, 2003. Next day I went to work on the Driveway Border. The following spring I started digging up turf along the sidewalk for the Sidewalk Border.

DSC_0907

This border has fairly moist soil, as water drains down from the house towards the sidewalk, and enjoys almost full sun. The soil is rich and loamy.

The plant mix in this border has changed substantially over the years. Some of the changes were mine, others were made by the plants themselves. Here’s an overview.

WINNERS

Blue Star (Amsonia tabernaemontana). Anchors the west end of the border. A slow and steady grower that forms a massive clump.

Rose Milkweed (Asclepias incarnata). A tall Milkweed that seems to hold its own with the Monardas.

Northern Sea Oats (Chasmanthium latifolium). A constant struggle to keep this grass from seeding itself all over, but oh those dangling seed heads!

sidewalk border
Sidewalk border, 2012. You can see my little Puddle of Salvia along the sidewalk.

Wild Geranium (Geranium maculatum). Short and neat, I planted it in the front of the border along the sidewalk. Then I tried to repeal and replace it with various Salvias. The Geraniums chuckled at my presumption and grew right back from whatever bits and pieces of rhizome remained. They were perfectly happy in the shade cast by the Switchgrass, Monardas, and other taller plants.

Bee Balm ‘Raspberry Wine’ (Monarda didyma). I planted a couple of these guys on a whim and now they almost dominate the look of this border for most of the summer.

Wild Bergamot (Monarda fistulosa). Not as aggressive as Bee Balm, but can hold its own. The lavender blue flowers are a good contrast for ‘Raspberry Wine’.

Switchgrass (Panicum virgatum). Over time it made huge clumps at the back of the border. Early this year I divided two of those clumps for the first time. As the Switchgrass expands it tends to squeeze out smaller plants, but more on that below.

DSC_0902
Summer is really the peak season for the Sidewalk Border.

Brown-Eyed Susan (Rudbeckia triloba). Showed up here without an invitation, but that’s OK. Always disappearing, then popping up somewhere new.

Celandine Poppy (Stylophorum diphyllum). Shares the front of the border with the Wild Geranium.

2014-08-09 17.53.05 path between island bed and sidewalk border
The back of the Sidewalk Border faces north, towards the house and the front lawn.

Short’s Aster (Symphyotrichum shortii). A plant that takes care of itself, and provides a multitude of light blue flowers in fall.

LOSERS

Anise Hyssop (Agastache foeniculum). Love this plant, but it just doesn’t want to grow here. Can’t handle the tall competitors, plus maybe too much moisture. Fortunately, it grows well in the Driveway Border.

DSC_0283
Sidewalk Border in April, with Wild Geranium and Blue Star in flower.

Smooth Penstemon (Penstemon digitalis). I have both the species and ‘Husker’s Red’. Initially it did well planted between clumps of Switchgrass. However, the Penstemon had to be transplanted as the expanding Switchgrass threatened to squeeze them out.

Early Sunflower (Heliopsis helianthoides). I just didn’t love this plant enough to justify the time needed to control its self-sowing. I thought the flowers were too coarse and stiff. Actually, I’m still pulling out Early Sunflower seedlings from this border.

Salvias, various (Salvia sylvestris ‘May Night’ and others). So I was inspired by the Lurie Garden’s River of Salvia and thought I could come up with a miniature version, a sort of Puddle of Salvia. Unfortunately, the Salvias struggled in the shade cast by taller neighbors. I ended up transplanting them, mostly to the Parkway Bed.

2014-10-05 14.06.25 sidewalk border
Sidewalk Border in September. Note the Short’s Aster and Switchgrass seed heads.

Golden Alexander (Zizia aurea). Golden Alexander prospered in the Sidewalk Border for the first few years, but eventually it was squeezed out by the Monardas. It continues to do well elsewhere, in spots where the competition is less intense.

TO BE DETERMINED

Last year I planted a number of ‘Casa Blanca’ and ‘Conca d’Or’ Lilies. They bloomed nicely this year, and we’ll see if they make themselves at home. I also planted a Wild Senna (Senna hebecarpa). It’s been settling in, but didn’t bloom this year. We’ll see how it does.

FUTURE ADDITIONS?

I’d like to add some blue to all the mid-summer red and pink in this border. Possibly some Blue Vervain (Verbena hastata). Also, in late summer the Wild Geranium tends to die back a bit, making the front of the border look a little sparse. I was thinking of providing some late season fullness and color by interplanting some Bottle Gentian (Gentiana andewsii) among the Wild Geranium.

The Sidewalk Border gave me an object lesson on companion plantings. Now when I think about combining plants, I try to anticipate which plants will shade or squeeze out the others over time. Smaller plants need to be shade-tolerant or carefully placed facing west or south so that they get adequate sun. They also need to be stubborn. Some plants just have a limited tolerance for competition.

That’s all for now.

36 Comments on “Perennial Winners and Losers in the Sidewalk Border

  1. Blue vervain, while tall and gorgeous, is wildly invasive in my garden!! The sidewalk border is just a delight, Jason. And all the recent pics from Japan were a trip down memory lane – thanks!

  2. I love the photo of the back side of this border. Great shot. The grass path seems to hold up in the shade between the beds. Interesting article. A good appraisal of your sidewalk border.

  3. Very interesting! I hope your lilies do make themselves at home…the same has yet to be determined in my garden, too. The grass pathway through your garden is wonderful!

      • Oh I had those for a little while this summer. I hand-picked them a couple times a day and dropped them into a container of oil. It kills them instantly, and within a week or so they were all gone.

  4. An interesting post especially as we are planning to put some new plants into our front garden. .. Interesting to see what did and didn’t work for you although our conditions are very different. The sidewalk border is lovely.

  5. All very pretty. I am enjoying a little rain right now. It was so dry and hot here this summer that everything struggled – even the sedums. No way I could water enough unless I let it run all the time.

  6. That border sounds like a dream. There is not patch land in my yard that remotely resembles what you have described. Sigh. But we must work with what we have, as I have learned the hard way. šŸ˜‰

  7. It’s really interesting that your exuberant and beautiful sidewalk border appears to be between two regular front lawns. I’m imagining you smiling to yourself as your neighbours busily mow their plain old lawns while you admire your plants. It was a bold, generous and inspired decision to plant it like this and I’m sure passers-by appreciate it. Your plantings work so well together and it’s fascinating to read how it all came about. Thank you for telling us all about it!

    • Most people are appreciative, but not everyone. One person told me that she’s afraid some wild animal will leap out of the border at her. And more than one person has said there are too many bees.

      • There is absolutely no accounting for some people. Too many bees?! Tsk.

  8. Wow – you started the driveway border the day after you moved it – now THAT’s hard core (as the young folk say šŸ˜‰ I think I fret way too much when it comes to making selections for the garden, thinking I’ll make a “wrong” choice, when in the end, there really is no wrong choice, just choice (although I always check to see how “invasive” something is – I have way too many of those types in my garden already!)

    Question about the Switchgrass – I’m considering including the variety ‘Cloud Nine’ at the back of the west border where I need height & descriptions indicate to give this variety 4-6′ width spacing. When you say that the Switchgrass squeezes out other plants do you mean that it continues to expand beyond what the catalogues indicate? Would I need to give this guy more space than 6′?

    • No, I don’t think you need more than 6 feet. What I was referring to was how the Switchgrass casts a rather dense shade on smaller plants right around it (unless they are south or west). Also, after 10 plus years my Switchgrass showed signs of needing division – dead center, more flopping, etc.

  9. I’m impressed! You did a very good job with your sidewalk border. In case I come to Chicago one day you have to give me a tour through your garden!

  10. Your assessments are interesting. It certainly looked great when the Midwest bloggers visited! You’ve really put a lot of work and planning into it. Love the Short’s Aster and Switchgrass combo in the last photo!

  11. Interesting to see what grows well in your garden, I love the grasses in the border, also the Monarda, mine always develops rust.xxx

  12. That photo of the back of the sidewalk border is stunning! Those upright grasses look great there. Love the Short’s Aster too.

  13. “The geraniums chuckled at my presumption…”

    Jason, you’re too funny! šŸ™‚

    And totally agree with you on the Heliopsis helianthoides. Too coarse and too large (can get 5-feet tall and floppy here without cutbacks and can grow 3-feet even with multiple cutbacks), but the dealbreaker is the rampant self-sowing. I let three of them go to seed last year and now I have hundreds of seedlings in one of my flowerbeds and even little false sunflowers can be a bear to pull.

Leave a Reply

