Savoring Autumn Awesomeness

It’s the middle of October already. I’m already starting to mourn the passing of autumn, which is rough because I’m still not over the passing of summer. Anyway, at the risk of being repetitive, I’m posting some pictures taken earlier in the month.

DSC_0304

Northern Sea Oats (Chasmanthium latifolium) with Brown-Eyed Susan (Rudbeckia triloba).

DSC_0310

Again with the Northern Sea Oats, topped with the airy panicles of Switchgrass (Panicum virgatum).

DSC_0286

Aromatic Aster (Symphyotrichum oblongifolium) with Anise-Scented Goldenrod (Solidago odora).

DSC_0300

Aromatic Aster with Bumblebee.

DSC_0316

A metallic green bee (I think) with New England Aster (S. novae-angliae).

DSC_0332

What I think is a tachnid fly, also with NE Aster.

DSC_0336

There’s some Virginia Wild Rye (Elymus virginicus) that grows around the garden. Mostly I treat it as a weed and cut off the seed heads. However, a few stalks always escape my efforts.

DSC_0341

They can look nice, especially backlit by the sun.

DSC_0344

You can see on the right that the foliage of Rose Milkweed (Asclepias incarnata) can have pretty decent fall color.

DSC_0283

It makes me a little melancholy when I see the Goldfinches put on their dull winter coats.

Sigh. Onward to the holidays.

That’s all for now.

43 Comments on “Savoring Autumn Awesomeness

  1. It is funny to see what passes for wildflowers in other regions. In a chaparral climate, we do not have much to show in autumn unless it gets a bit water. Salvias bloom nicely about now, but mine got roasted by the late heat.

  2. Enjoy while it lasts, once frost arrives, it will all change again, that is the wonder of gardening, each season has its own beauty.

  3. The New England Asters and the Brown-Eyed Susan are very cheery, but I always feel a tinge of sadness is autumn.

  4. I had never heard of anise-scented goldenrod and was about to go out sniffing our wild plants to see if we had any. Apparently, it doesn’t grow wild in Maine, though, so I’m glad I looked it up before sniffing my way around the property. I love fall and enjoy winter, but I know what you mean about seeing the goldfinches put on their winter coats. It is a bit melancholy.

  5. Wonderful pictures and a sweet but sad time. I think the green bee might be a sweat bee. We have them here, and I took a similar picture a month ago.

  6. Beautiful shots! Your pollinator visitors look busy and I’ll bet they’re satisfied with the nectar choices.

  7. Lovely shots of autumn beauty. Like you, I’m not yet ready for winter. Not a fan of that time when we only see our gardens on weekends as it’s dark when we leave and dark when we return. Oh well, it is what it is.

  8. Some lovely pictures here, especially the asters, the aromatic white one is just lovely. I do enjoy all the seasons, but loathe the dark nights, they seem to go on forever.xxx

  9. Beautiful! After seeing your garden recently, I can now actually imagine it. It’s funny, I noticed today that my Sea Oats are still quite green–but they’re in much more shade than yours are. I also noticed that your Sea Oats are much taller than mine–probably because they get more sun. What a wonderful plant, no matter what the conditions!

  10. You are such a busy and passionate gardener, Jason! I can understand that you don’t look forward to winter. I wouldn’t like the winters in Chicago also. But see it like that: at the end of winter you can look forward to spring!

  11. Beautiful asters! For some reason, my New England Asters didn’t bloom this year, which is unusual because they usually dominate one garden bed. I understand your feelings about autumn; unfortunately, my two favorite seasons–spring and fall–are the shortest seasons of the year here in Illinois.

Leave a Reply

