Silver Spring’s Brookside Gardens

It’s been a busy week – just returned today from a state convention and tomorrow I have to get back on the road. No rest for the wicked.

Anyhow, let’s talk about Brookside – a popular public garden covering 50 acres in the Maryland suburbs of Washington, DC. It was another stop on the first day of this year’s Garden Bloggers Fling.

DSC_0965

There was a lot that Judy and I didn’t get to see while there, but we did like the children’s garden.

DSC_1082

Verbena bonariensis makes a see-through screen near this water feature.

DSC_1083

Here’s a clear view of the same water feature.

DSC_1092

For me, orange roses are adorable, despite my failed attempt to grow ‘Westerland’.

DSC_1116

Another water feature with a nice gazebo in the background. I think someone told me this was a popular spot for weddings.

DSC_0987

I like these butterfly sculptures. Speaking of which …

DSC_0993

There’s a nice outdoor butterfly garden, with lots of Common Milkweed (Asclepias syriaca) and other host plants.

DSC_1060

Brookside Gardens also hosts a butterfly house every summer. I love butterfly houses, and we spent a lot of time at this one.

DSC_1047

Butterfly houses are filled mostly with exotic species raised on butterfly farms in Central America and Southeast Asia.

DSC_1032

Some conservationists have mixed feelings about butterfly houses. They fear the commerce in butterflies might spread diseases or parasitoids. Also, there’s the possibility that butterfly species will escape and become naturalized in new areas. While that doesn’t sound so terrible (“The butterflies are coming!”), it could have a negative impact on local plants and insects.

DSC_1037On the other hand,  the educational value of butterfly houses shouldn’t be downplayed. What if they helped more people understand the importance of butterfly host plants and not using insecticides? And that leads to more butterfly and pollinator gardens in urban and suburban landscapes?

DSC_1027

In any case, it’s an enchanting experience to be surrounded by these fluttering beauties.

DSC_1022

I heard a kid refer excitedly to the critter above as “Hey, it’s a butterfly with a big red butt!”

DSC_1020

This one’s wings are a bit ragged.

DSC_1070

This green-and-black butterfly seems to enjoy feeding on Pentas.

DSC_1008

Oh, and this butterfly house had lots of caterpillars on display. The one above is Zebra Longwing, I think.

DSC_1011

And this one is a Cecropia Moth. Though it looks to me sort of like a Tomato Hornworm.

DSC_0973

Here it looks like Brookside is engaged in cutting edge research on using plants to grow brain tissue. Just kidding. But seriously, what the heck is that?

That’s all for now.

25 Comments on “Silver Spring’s Brookside Gardens

    • Hmm, this is the first I’ve heard of climbing milkweed. I don’t think that’s it, though, the plant at brookside had a more horizontal pattern on its fruit.

  1. The gazebo with the copper roof and the butterfly sculptures are outstanding! I enjoyed seeing the various butterflies inside the butterfly house. Don’t know about the brain tissue!

  2. On balance, I agree with you; the more people are educated by seeing and, more importantly, enjoying butterflies AND the caterpillars the better chance we have of them not using insecticides. Although a recent article in the Guardian is about the fact that insect numbers in Germany (and probably all of Europe) have dropped by a phenomenal amount. Great images of the butterflies.

  3. When I visited a butterfly house in Florida I saw some of the escapees in surrounding gardens. It did make me wonder about them establishing there. I didn’t think about the possible negative reasons to not let them escape.
    Several years ago there was a temporary butterfly house at a zoo not far from where I live. They had all native (to North America) butterflies and moths in it. To me that is the most educational. I heard people exclaim that they had never seen some of the common butterflies seen around here. They are gorgeous as you know. I was so hoping this trend would catch on.

  4. I walked around quite a bit at Brookside and thoroughly enjoyed the paths through the wooded areas (not sure if it was the peacefulness or the shade – it was so HOT!). I didn’t see the “brain” – how delightfully weird! Hopefully someone has the answer to this mystery.

  5. Beautiful, beautiful! Love the butterfly with the red butt. 😉 Of course, the blue one is my favorite.

    • The blue one was really striking. I didn’t mention that it has a mostly brown outer wing – the two in that picture are the same species.

  6. I loved the butterfly pavillion at Brookside! And Judy’s pictures do such justice to the amazing colors and patterns of those beauties. It really was an enchanted place. Thanks for the lovely memories!

  7. That was fun, I love children’s gardens, much more fun and playful. Butterfly houses are great, so I am in that camp…visitors get to experience the varieties.

  8. The idea of the butterfly house appeals to me greatly, though I have yet to experience one. Is there anything in the world that does not inspire controversy?

  9. Goodness, what is that last image? What an interesting array of butterflies, the eye on the brown one is stunning. I do like the verbena screen, I grew lots from seed this year and they are all flowering now. I do like the butterfly sculpture.xxx

Leave a Reply

