All Flung Out

Well, the 2017 Garden Bloggers Fling is done, and I don’t mind telling you I’m exhausted. A good kind of exhausted, though.

DSC_0827

This year the flingers visited public and private gardens from the National Mall in DC to the Maryland suburbs and the hills of Northern Virginia.

DSC_0379Judy took about 1,500 photographs. Many hours of photo sorting lie in my future.

DSC_0280I’m going to wait until late in the year before I start writing about the gardens we saw.

DSC_0125But for now I just wanted to give you a little taste.

DSC_0965Children’s Garden at Brookside Gardens in Maryland.

DSC_0069Judy took about 20 pictures of this giant metal rooster. She was very excited.

DSC_1114Mary Ripley Garden near the Smithsonian administrative center.

 

 

DSC_0299Grapes at the Stone Tower Winery in Virginia.

DSC_0432A Tiger Swallowtail at Meadowlark Gardens in Northern Virginia.

DSC_0823One thing that must be said is that the organizers of this year’s Fling did a brilliant job. Particular mention must be made of Tammy Schmitt, who devoted countless unpaid hours with bulldog determination and a creative flair. Her whole team deserves tremendous credit as well.

That’s all for now.

33 Comments on “All Flung Out”

  1. Am looking forward to your and other Flingers’ posts. I live vicariously! I enjoy these posts. There’s always something good to be seen and different Flingers take different photos so no two posts of the same venue are the same. I think Judy deserves a big metal rooster for all of the photos she took.

Leave a comment